The DeKalb County Commission met in regular session on Tuesday March 12, 2024 at 10:00 a.m. in the DeKalb County Activities Building (Courthouse Annex). Those present were Shane Wootten (President ProTem), Terry Harris, Ron Saferite, and Lester Black. Absent was President Harcrow

The meeting was called to order by President ProTem Wootten with Mr. Broyles delivering the Invocation, and Mr. Saferite leading the Pledge. Mr. Harcrow was attending his quarterly meeting with the RSA.

It was moved by Mr. Black seconded by Mr. Saferite with all members voting affirmatively, motion carrying to dispense with the reading of the minutes and to accept them as presented in written format.

## **Road Department**

<u>Update</u>—Mr. Broyles gave a brief update stating that crews are continuing to do patch work and bush cutting. The District 2 crew is working on ditch work and he hopes to begin work on clipping shoulders next week.

<u>Trucks</u>—Mr. Broyles asked the Commission to declare three trucks (CT8304, CT9520 and CT1304) as surplus to be sold at auction this month

Mr. Harris made a motion to approve. Seconded by Mr. Saferite. All members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

## Engineer

<u>Bucket Truck Bid Award</u>—Mr. Luther presented bid tabs opened on February 28, 2024 for one used Bucket Truck. Michael's Tree Service had the only bid at \$29,900 with immediate delivery for a 2010 Freightliner M2 with 105,663 miles. Mr. Luther made the recommendation to the Commission to purchase the Truck.

Mr. Black made a motion to accept the recommendation. Mr. Harris seconded the motion. All members voting affirmatively, motion carried to award the bid to Michael's Tree Service.

<u>Sheriff's Department Truck Bid Award</u>—Mr. Luther presented bid tabs, opened on March 6, 2024 for one (1) 2023 Chevy Silverado 1500 4WD Crew Cab 147" LT Trail Boss including Upfit of Emergency Lights & Ancillary Equipment. One bid was received from Donohoo Chevrolet for a total of \$59,995 (Vehicle \$50,395-Upfit \$9,600). He made the recommendation to award the bid to Donohoo Chevrolet for this DTF Vehicle.

Mr. Saferite made the motion to approve. Mr. Harris seconded the motion. All members voting affirmatively, motion carried to award bid for the DTF vehicle to Donohoo.

<u>Grand Estates Phase II Subdivision Preliminary Plat Approval</u>—Mr. Luther stated that he received a request from Ricky and Tony Butts to begin the second phase of the Grand Estates Subdivision in the Rainsville area off CR 90 for 19 new lots. The preliminary plat meets all county standards. Mr. Luther made the recommendation to approve the proposed development.

Mr. Black made a motion to approve the request. Mr. Saferite second the motion. All members voting affirmatively, motion carried to approve the second phase of the Grand Estate Subdivision development.

## **Sheriff's Office Personnel**

<u>Sheriff Welden</u> requested the Commission accept the resignation of FT Courthouse Security Deputy Troy Fugatt, and permission to Transfer Deputy Carl White from FT Road Deputy to FT Courthouse Security to replace Troy Fugatt. He also requested transfer of FT Jail Transport Officer Isiah Avila to FT Deputy to replace Deputy Carl White's position.

Mr. Harris made a motion to approve. Mr. Black second the motion. All members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

Sheriff Welden requested the Commission accept the termination of FT Road Deputy Bobby Logan Smith and to Transfer Seth Butler from PT Courthouse Security to FT Road Deputy to replace Deputy Bobby Logan Smith.

Mr. Saferite made a motion to approve. Mr. Black seconded the motion. All members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

Sheriff Welden requested permission to re-hire Donald Morgan as PT work crew/trash detail employee (to be paid from Tipping Fee Fund).

Mr. Black made a motion to approve. Seconded by Mr. Harris. All members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

**Jail Personnel**—Chief Wright asked the Commission to accept the resignation of Corrections Officer Nathan Palmer and Sgt William Watson and requested permission to hire Adam Thornton (open spot) and Christina Blankenship to replace CO Amber Guffey who recently resigned, and to promote Tyler Sparkman from Corrections Officer to Sgt replacing Sgt. Watson.

Mr. Saferite made a motion to approve the request. Seconded by Mr. Black. All members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

**COA Personnel**—Ms. McCamy requested the Commission's approval to hire a Substitute Center Manager(s) to fill in as needed in the absence of a regular Center Manager (no additional cost to County).

Mr. Saferite made a motion to grant the request. Seconded by Mr. Harris. All members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

**Maintenance Personnel**—County Administrator Matt Sharp requested approval to hire Chad Wootten to fill the open position in building maintenance. He stated that Mr. Wootten has been working as a contract employee for the last few months.

Mr. Harris made a motion to approve the new hire effective March 18, 2024. Seconded by Mr. Black. All members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

**Wellness Screening**—Mr. Sharp addressed the Commission on the upcoming Local Government Health Insurance Wellness Screening to take place Wednesday March 12. He stressed the importance of employee participation stating the County must meet the 80% participation in order to keep the County and employee insurance rates from increasing (saving approximately \$250,000 in additional costs).

**County Wide Spring Clean-up**—President ProTem Wootten addressed the audience on the upcoming Countywide Spring Cleanup taking place April 3-6 and again on April 10-13. He asked the media and audience to please help get the word out and encouraged the County's citizens to take advantage of this service.

President ProTem Wootten notified the audience that the next meeting will be on Tuesday April 9, 2024 and asked for a Motion to adjourn.

Mr. Harris made a motion to adjourn. President ProTem declared no objections, and ordered the meeting adjourned.

ABSENT\_\_\_\_\_ Ricky Harcrow, President

Shane Wootten, President Protem

Terry Harris, Commissioner District II

Ron Saferite, Commissioner District III

Lester Black, Commissioner District IV