The DeKalb County Commission met in regular session on Tuesday August 10, 2021 at 10:00 a.m. (with minimal attendance due to Covid-19 social distancing guidelines) in the DeKalb County Activities Building (Courthouse Annex). Those present were President Ricky Harcrow, Terry Harris, and Lester Black. Shane Wootten and Chris Kuykendall were absent.

\_\_\_\_\_

The meeting was called to order by President Harcrow with Mr. Harcrow delivering the invocation and Mr. Luther leading the Pledge.

It was moved by Mr. Harris, seconded by Mr. Black with all members voting affirmatively, motion carrying to dispense with the reading of the minutes and to accept them as presented in written format.

# **Road Department**

<u>Update</u>—Mr. Broyles stated that crews have been bush cutting and bushhogging in all districts. He also stated that all roads are now open with the exception of CR 185 (should reopen tomorrow), CR 886 (will be installing a new bridge) and CR 835 which is still too wet on site as well as the site they would be hauling materials to.

\_\_\_\_\_\_

#### **Engineering**

### FY2022 County Transportation Plan

Mr. Luther presented the first draft of the FY2022 County's "Rebuild Alabama" Transportation Plan to the Commission for approval. After a brief overview of the plan, Mr. Luther stated that the Commission is required by law to adopt the first edition of the plan. President Harcrow solicited for a motion to approve with necessary amendments. The plan currently only includes roads in District 1 and 4 as follows:

## District 1

	Miles	Rebuild Funds	RRR Funds	Total
CR 159 (Hwy 117 - CR 141	5.68	106,636.00		106,636.00
CR 715 (CR 126 - CR 138)	3.15	64,070.50	6,153.50	70,224.00
CR 106 (CR 165 - Hwy 117)	5.50	116,160.00		116,160.00

### District 4

	Miles	Rebuild Funds	RRR Funds	Total
CR 38 (CR 48 - Jackson Co)	1.87	35,107.00		35,107.00
CR 48 (CR 47 - Jackson Co)	1.89	39,917.00		39,917.00
CR 76 (CR 41 - Hwy 75)	1.20	28,160.00		28,160.00
CR 122 (Hwy 75 - CR 85)	4.20	78,848.00		78,848.00
CR 214 (CR 27 - CR 685)	1.30	21,355.00		21,355.00
CR 407 (CR 27 - Jackson Co)	1.67	39,190.00		39,190.00
CR 485 (CR 27 - CR 121)	2.40	44,289.50	12,030.50	56,320.00

Mr. Black made a motion to approve. Mr. Harris seconded the motion. All members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

\_\_\_\_\_

## Sheriff/Jail

Sheriff's Office Personnel—On behalf of Chief Deputy Gregg, Chief Smith requested approval to hire Richard Goldin as part-time SRO to fill the vacancy at Henagar School and to transfer Hannah Neel from part-time to full-time Dispatch replacing Sara McAnelly who recently transferred to the Revenue Commission Office and will also fill in "PT-as needed" in dispatch (Note: Jim Chambers was the former Henagar SRO Officer and Tim Rector was the former Moon Lake SRO, which has now been closed – both may work as PT, as needed).

Mr. Black made a motion to approve. Mr. Harris seconded the motion. All members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

Jail Personnel—Chief Smith requested the Commission's approval to hire the following:

Gary Clifton as PT Inmate Road Crew leader Amber Bell (replaces Stefanie Munger) Brittany Gentry (replaces Tiffany Barksdale) Nathan Palmer (replaces Landon Crowe)

Mr. Harris made a motion to grant the personnel request. Mr. Black seconded the motion. All members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

#### **Revenue Commission**

<u>Personnel</u>—Mr. Wilks asked for the Commission's approval to rehire Krista Tramel effective August 20, 2021 to fill a clerk position vacated by Bekka Atkins.

Mr. Harris made a motion to approve. Mr. Black seconded the motion. All members voting affirmatively motion carried.

#### **EMA**

<u>Personnel</u>—Mr. Clifton requested permission to hire PT employee, JD Trammell (G6/2) as Full-Time employee to work with EMA, Fleet and High Falls Park to fill the position vacated by Matt Martin when he went to the Sheriff's Office.

Mr. Black made a motion to approve the request. Mr. Harris seconded the motion. All members voting affirmatively. Motion carried.

Mr. Clifton recognized both the VFW and the Agri-Business Center for their efforts in helping with providing resources during the Covid-19 Pandemic.

President Harcrow presented a Resolution and Plaque to each organization for their support.

**Council on Aging**—On behalf of Ms. McCamy, Mr. Sharp presented the FY2022 "Aging" and "Senior Rx" contracts and Rural Public Transportation's "Supplemental Agreement No. 2" which includes the requirements of the FTA's Coronavirus Aide, Relief, and Economic Security (CARES) Act of 2020. Mr.

Sharp made the recommendation to adopt all three of the agreements and authorize President Harcrow to sign.

Mr. Harris made a motion to honor the request. Mr. Black seconded the motion. All members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

**Budget Draft**—Mr. Sharp presented to the Commission for review, the 2021-22FY proposed budget draft and gave a brief overview to the audience. He stated that there would be a work session called for discussion before finalizing in September.

President Harcrow notified the audience that the next meeting will be on Tuesday, Sept 14, 2021 and asked for a motion to adjourn.

Mr. Harris made a motion to adjourn. The President declared no objections and ordered the meeting adjourned.

Ricky Harcrow, President
Absent-due to Covid-19 restrictions
Shane Wootten, Commissioner District I
Terry Harris, Commissioner District II
Absent-due to Covid-19 restrictions
Chris Kuykendall, Commissioner District III
Lester Black, Commissioner District IV