The DeKalb County Commission met in regular session (with minimal attendance due to COVID-19 Social Distancing Restrictions) on Tuesday May 11, 2021 at 10:00 a.m. in the DeKalb County Activities Building (Courthouse Annex). Those present were President Ricky Harcrow, Shane Wootten, Terry Harris, Chris Kuykendall, and Lester Black.

The meeting was called to order by President Harcrow with Mr. Wootten delivering the invocation and Mr. Kuykendall leading the Pledge.

It was moved by Mr. Wootten, seconded by Mr. Black with all members voting affirmatively, motion carrying to dispense with the reading of the minutes and to accept them as presented in written format.

Road Department

<u>Update</u>—Mr. Broyles stated that crews continue to work in all districts repairing washed out places on dirt roads and have hauled some chert in District 2. District 3 & District 4 crews have completed shoulder work and District 2 is almost complete. District 1 shoulder work should begin next week and hopefully be ready for the paving contractor to begin resurfacing work as weather permits.

<u>Personnel</u>—Mr. Broyles notified the commission that "Sign Man" Winfield (Butch) Alfree, will be retiring effective May 1st and requested approval to post the position. He stated that Mr. Alfree's position may be filled from within the department which would leave a vacant position in one of the district crews.

Mr. Wootten made a motion to approve. Mr. Kuykendall seconded the motion. All members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

Engineering

Damage Claim

Mr. Sharp presented a damage claim from Randell Smith claiming damage to the window of his vehicle by the County mowing crew which occurred at 328 CR 762 in Henagar, and made the recommendation on Mr. Luther's behalf to forward the claim to CRS for final disposition.

CR 85 Repairs

Mr. Sharp presented Bid Tabulations for the estimated cost of resurfacing the portion of CR 85 between CR 610 & CR 121, and made the recommendation to award the project to Wiregrass Construction who had the low bid for the project of \$23,481.19.

A motion was made by Mr. Black to forward the damage claim to CRS and to approve awarding the CR 85 repaving project to Wiregrass Construction. Mr. Wootten seconded the motion. All members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

Commission Office

<u>Personnel</u>—Mr. Sharp requested the Commission's approval to hire Brittani Williams to fill the County Commission's Accounting Clerk position. This position will be used primarily for administrative duties for the American Rescue Plan and other federal and state grants administered by the County.

Mr. Harris made a motion to approve. Mr. Kuykendall seconded the motion. All members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

Sheriff/Jail

<u>Jail Personnel</u>—Chief Deputy Gregg asked for the Commission's approval to hire Celeste Ragan to fill a part-time administrative assistant position to help alleviate the back log of court cases due to the Grand Jury's inability to meet during the Covid-19 Pandemic. This position will be initially paid from the American Rescue Plan and will take the place of one of the Transport positions.

Mr. Kuykendall made a motion to approve. Mr. Black seconded the motion. All members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

<u>Sheriff's Office Personnel</u>—Chief Deputy Gregg requested the Commission's approval to transfer Caitlin East from Dispatch to a Clerical position (will replace one of the current clerical employees when they retire – will be reimbursed by the American Rescue Plan until then), promote Jenalee Roberts from PT to FT Dispatch (replaces Caitlin East), Transfer Josh Hairston from Patrol Sgt. to Investigations (replaces David Davis) and to promote Ray Morales to Patrol Sgt. (replaces Josh Hairston).

Mr. Wootten made a motion to accept the Sheriff's Office personnel changes. Mr. Black seconded the motion. All members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

Revenue Commission

<u>Personnel</u>—On behalf of Mr. Wilks, Mr. Sharp requested the Commission's approval to post two Tag Clerk positions and a receptionist position recently vacated by the resignation of Meagan Hall and Domenica (Meny) Miraselvas and the retirement of Elaine Chester.

Mr. Kuykendall made a motion to approve posting the positions. Mr. Harris seconded the motion. All members voting affirmatively motion carried.

Probate

<u>Personnel</u>—Judge Osborn requested the commission's approval to post a position to replace Trudy Raye who is retiring next year and may be out on extended leave this year. Also, another employee will be out on maternity leave.

Mr. Wootten made a motion to approve. Mr. Kuykendall seconded the motion. All members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

Building Maintenance—<u>RC and Courthouse Waterproofing</u>—Mr. Shelton addressed the Commission and requested approval to enter into contract with Summit Waterproofing, Inc. for waterproofing the Revenue Commission building and to put out a public works bid on waterproofing the County Courthouse. Cost on the RC Building is approximately \$20,000.

Mr. Wootten made a motion to approve. Mr. Harris seconded the motion. All members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

911 Board—Mr. Black made the recommendation and motion to reappoint Willie Wright to the E911 Board with the term ending February 2025. Mr. Kuykendall seconded the motion. All members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

County Park Board Appointments—President Harcrow addressed the Commission and made the recommendation to appoint Josh Powell and Michael Edmondson to the County Park Board filling positions recently vacated by Wayne Wilson and Neal Thrash.

Mr. Harris made a motion to approve. Mr. Wootten seconded the motion. All members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

President Harcrow notified the audience that the next meeting will be on Tuesday, June 8, 2021 and asked for a motion to adjourn.

Mr. Wootten made a motion to adjourn. The President declared no objections and ordered the meeting adjourned.

Ricky Harcrow, President

Shane Wootten, Commissioner District I

Terry Harris, Commissioner District II

Chris Kuykendall, Commissioner District III

Lester Black, Commissioner District IV