The DeKalb County Commission met in regular session (with minimal attendance due to COVID-19 Social Distancing Restrictions) on Tuesday, December 8, 2020 at 10:00 a.m. in the DeKalb County Activities Building (Courthouse Annex). Those present were President Ricky Harcrow, Shane Wootten and Lester Black. Absent (from the rotation of conducting business) were Chris Kuykendall and Terry Harris.

The meeting was called to order by President Harcrow with Mr. Harcrow delivering the invocation and Mr. Black leading the Pledge.

It was moved by Mr. Wootten, seconded by Mr. Black with all members voting affirmatively, motion carrying to dispense with the reading of the minutes and to accept them as presented in written format.

Engineering

<u>CR 218 Speed Limit Resolution</u>—Mr. Luther made a recommendation to the Commission to post a 25-mph speed limit on CR 218 due to citizen concerns.

A motion was made by Mr. Black, seconded by Mr. Wootten. All members voting affirmatively, motion carried adopt the following resolution setting the speed limit on CR 218 @ 25 mph:

State of Alabama DeKalb County

RESOLUTION NO. 20-1208-01

WHEREAS, the DeKalb County Commission on the basis of an engineering and traffic investigation determines that the maximum speed permitted under Article 8, Title 32, Chapter 5A, Code of Alabama, 1975 for County Road 218 between County Road 180 and County Road 515 is greater than is reasonable and safe under the conditions found to exist on said paved road;

NOW THERFORE IT IS RESOLVED, that the proper maximum speed for County Road 218 between County Road 180 and County Road 515 is set at 25 miles per hour at all times and no person shall operate a motor vehicle in excess of 25 miles per hour on said County Road 218;

IT IS FURTHER RESOLVED, that any violations of this Resolution shall be unlawful and punishable pursuant to Title 32, Chapter 5A, Code of Alabama, 1975.

ADOPTED this the 8th day of December, 2020

<u>Road Maintenance Acceptance (Shankles Ridge Phase 3</u>—Mr. Luther made a recommendation at the request of Andy and Deborah Shankles to accept and take over maintenance of the road leading into Shankles Ridge Sub-division (off CR 505). Mr. Luther stated that all requirements have been met concerning this project.

A motion was made by Mr. Black. Mr. Wootten seconded the motion. All members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

<u>Damage claim—CR167</u>—Mr. Luther presented a damage claim from Jessica Aiken claiming tar & clay damage to her vehicle while traveling on CR 167. Mr. Luther made a recommendation to the Commission to forward the claim to the County's insurance carrier.

Mr. Black made a motion. Mr. Wootten seconded the motion. All members voting affirmatively, motion carried to forward the claim to CRS.

<u>CR 386 Bridge Project</u>—Mr. Luther presented an agreement between ALDOT and DeKalb County stating that the county has received extra funding (\$62,300.00) for a bridge replacement project on CR 386 over Cross Creek, He requested the Commission's authorization for Mr. Harcrow and Mr. Sharp to sign and execute the construction agreement for the funding.

Mr. Wootten made a motion. Mr. Black seconded the motion. All members voting affirmatively adopting the following resolution authorizing President Harcrow and Mr. Sharp to sign the agreement.

RESOLUTION NUMBER 20-1208-02

BE IT RESOLVED, by the DeKalb County Commission as follows:

That the County enter into an agreement with the State of Alabama, acting by and through the Alabama Department of Transportation relating to a project for:

Bridge replacement of BIN 000029 on CR-386 over Cross Creek; Project# ST-025-888-021-CN; CPMS Ref# 100072856.

Which agreement is before this Commission, and that the agreement be executed in the name of the County, by the Chairman for and on its behalf and that it be attested by the County Clerk and the official seal of the County be affixed thereto.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that upon the completion of the execution of the agreement by all parties, that a copy of such agreement be kept on file by the County.

Sheriff's Office

<u>Jail Personnel Termination</u>—Chief Deputy David Smith made a recommendation and requested approval to terminate Correction's Officer Michael Gibson.

Mr. Black made a motion to approve. Mr. Wootten seconded the motion. All members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

Chief Deputy Smith also asked for the Commission's approval to hire Dawson Bobo to replace the vacant position left when Mickey Bowen passed away. Also, he recommended promoting Lee Meadows to Executive Assistant to fill Mr. Bowen's position (Mr. Bobo will fill Mr. Meadow's position).

Mr. Wootten made a motion to approve. Mr. Black seconded the motion. All members voting affirmatively motion carried.

<u>Jail Addition/Architect</u>—President Harcrow stated that in a special work session on Monday he, Sheriff Welden and Chief Deputy Smith along with all Commissioners and other jail personnel

met with GMC Architects to discuss the jail expansion project and that everyone present was in unanimous agreement with GNC's recommendations for the project.

Mr. Harcrow asked the Commission to grant Chief Deputy Smith's request to hire GNC Architect for the expansion project of the jail.

Mr. Wootten made a motion to grant the request. Mr. Black seconded the motion. All members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

<u>Revenue Commission Personnel</u>—President Harcrow on behalf of Mr. Wilks made the recommendation to hire Christina Cordova, (Reappraisal) to replace Meny Miraselvas (PT/RC) Meny replaced Joyce Buttram.

Mr. Black made a motion to accept the recommendation and grant the request. Mr. Wootten seconded the motion. All members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

Agency Agreements for NVRA Mailers—President Harcrow presented an Agency Agreement from the Secretary of State's Office required to be signed and passed by the Commission. The Agreement is required under the federal National Voter Registration Act (NVRA) as well as corresponding state law that mandates every four years (after a Presidential election) a mailing to voters to see which voters need to be removed from the voter rolls. The Secretary of State's Office has served as the agent to every county to accomplish the required mailing to voters and it works out the payment of the mailer production and mailing costs so the County is not burdened by these expenses.

A Motion was made by Mr. Black. Seconded by Mr. Wootten. All members voting affirmatively, motion carrying to give President Harcrow authorization to sign the agreement.

Special Payroll—President Harcrow addressed the audience and asked that the Commission to pass a one-time Special Payroll for County employees. The special payroll would pay \$300.00 to full-time employees and \$150.00 to qualified part-time employees He asked for a motion to approve.

Mr. Black made a motion. Seconded by Mr. Wootten. All members voting affirmatively, motion carried to honor the request for a Special one-time payroll.

President Harcrow notified the audience that the next meeting will be on Tuesday, January 12, 2021 and asked for a motion to adjourn.

Mr. Wootten made a motion to adjourn. The President declared no objections and ordered the meeting adjourned.

Ricky Harcrow, President
Shane Wootten, Commissioner District I
ABSENT (DUE TO COVID-19)

Terry Harris, Commissioner District II

ABSENT (DUE TO COVID-19)
Chris Kuykendall, Commissioner District III
•
Lester Black, Commissioner District IV