The DeKalb County Commission met in regular session (with minimal attendance due to COVID-19 Social Distancing Restrictions) on Tuesday, Sept 8, 2020 at 10:00 a.m. in the DeKalb County Activities Building (Courthouse Annex). Those present were President Ricky Harcrow, Shane Wootten and Chris Kuykendall. Absent were Scot Westbrook and Lester Black

The meeting was called to order by President Harcrow with Mayor Ables delivering the invocation and Mr. Kuykendall leading the Pledge.

It was moved by Mr. Wootten, seconded by Mr. Kuykendall and with all members voting affirmatively, motion carrying to dispense with the reading of the minutes and to accept them as presented in written format.

Road Department

<u>Update</u>—Mr. Broyles stated that crews have been working on CR835 for the past several weeks on the two slides caused by the April flooding. Work on the upper slide is complete, while work on the lower slide is in progress and will hopefully be completed by late fall.

<u>Personnel</u>—Mr. Broyles requested approval to hire John Freeman to replace Shane Williams who recently resigned.

Mr. Kuykendall made a Motion. Seconded by Mr. Wootten to hire John Freeman for the District 3 crew. All members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

Engineering

<u>Speed Limit Resolutions</u>—Mr. Luther presented Speed Limit Resolutions for CR 86 (35 MPH), located between CR221 and AL HWY 68 and CR 88 (40 MPH) located between Lebanon and Pine Ridge.'

Mr. Kuykendall made the motion to accept Mr. Luther's recommendation and adopt the following resolutions setting a maximum speed of 35 mph on CR 86 and a maximum speed of 40 mph on CR 88. Mr. Wootten seconded the Motion as follows:

RESOLUTION NO. 20-0908-01

WHEREAS, the DeKalb County Commission on the basis of an engineering and traffic investigation determines that the maximum speed permitted under Article 8, Title 32, Chapter 5A, Code of Alabama, 1975 for County Road 86 between County Road 221 and State Road 68 is greater than is reasonable and safe under the conditions found to exist on said paved road;

NOW THERFORE IT IS RESOLVED, that the proper maximum speed for County Road 86 between County Road 221 and State Road 68 is set at 35 miles per hour at all times and no person shall operate a motor vehicle in excess of 35 miles per hour on said portion of County Road 86;

IT IS FURTHER RESOLVED, that any violations of this Resolution shall be unlawful and punishable pursuant to Title 32, Chapter 5A, Code of Alabama, 1975.

Harcrow, President

ADOPTED this the 8th day of September, 2020

Shane Wootten

District 1 Commissioner

Chris Kuykendall

District 3 Commissioner

Scot Westbrook District 2 Commissioner

Lester Black District 4 Commissioner

ATTEST:

Matt Share County Administrator

RESOLUTION NO. 20-0908-02

WHEREAS, the DeKalb County Commission on the basis of an engineering and traffic investigation determines that the maximum speed permitted under Article 8, Title 32, Chapter 5A, Code of Alabama, 1975 for County Road 88 between County Road 52 and the Pine Ridge Town Limits is greater than is reasonable and safe under the conditions found to exist on said paved road;

NOW THERFORE IT IS RESOLVED, that the proper maximum speed for County Road 88 between County Road 52 and the Pine Ridge Town Limits is set at 40 miles per hour at all times and no person shall operate a motor vehicle in excess of 40 miles per hour on said County Road 88;

IT IS FURTHER RESOLVED, that any violations of this Resolution shall be unlawful and punishable pursuant to Title 32, Chapter 5A, Code of Alabama, 1975.

y Harcrow, President

ADOPTED this the 8th day of September, 2020

Shane Wootten

District 1 Commissioner

Scot

Scot Westbrook District 2 Commissioner

Chris Katykendall

District 3 Commissioner

Lester Black District 4 Commissioner

Matt Sharp County Administrator

<u>Damage Claim</u>—Mr. Luther presented a damage claim from John Miller claiming front-end damage to his vehicle on CR 480 and requested permission to forward to the County's Insurance Carrier.

Mr. Wootten made a Motion. Seconded by Mr. Kuykendall. All members voting affirmatively to forward the claim to CRS.

<u>Amend FY2021 County Transportation Plan</u>—Mr. Luther requested approval to amend the transportation plan that was approved at the August 11th meeting to include three additional road projects stating they would not be paid by Rebuild Alabama Funds, but would get all projects listed under one Transportation Plan.

Mr. Kuykendall made a motion to approve. Seconded by Mr. Wootten. All members voting affirmatively to Amend the FY2021 County Transportation Plan as follows:

CR 469 (from Hwy 11 to CR 865) \$46,745 (Tipping Fees)

CR 226 (from CR 107 to CR 55)

\$26,250 (RRR)

<u>Award Annual Bids</u>—Mr. Luther presented the County's Annual Bid List to the Commission and made a recommendation to award said bids.

Mr. Kuykendall made a Motion to honor his request. Mr. Wootten seconded the motion. All members voting affirmatively to award the FY21 Bids as follows:

Asphalt (Hot Mix) Material	DeKalb Asphalt, Reed & Wiregrass (hauling)
Structural Portland Cement Concrete	Kirkpatrick (slurry); Southern (Class A & B)
Corrugated Metal Pipe	Fallin Farms
CRS 2 Asphalt	Hudson Materials
Crushed Limestone Aggregate	Reed & Vulcan Materials (hauling)
Grader Blades	Thompson Tractor
High Density Polyethylene Pipe (pickup)	Harris Lands
High Density Polyethylene Pipe (delivered)	S&S Wholesale
HDPE Pipe Liner	ISCO Industries
High Performance Cold Patch Material	Hudson Materials
Traffic Signs	Traffic Signs, Inc. & Vulcan Signs (various)
Traffic Sign Posts	Traffic Signs, Inc.

Sheriff's Office/Jail

<u>Deputy Personnel</u>—Chief Deputy Brad Gregg requested the Commission's approval to hire Sara McAnelly as an as-needed PT dispatcher (G5/1) and transfer Hunter Akins to the Narcotics Task Force as a FT agent G8A. He said Tyler Pruett took his deputy slot with the COPS Grant.

<u>Jail Personnel</u>—Chief Deputy Gregg requested to hire Jordan Leath (G5/3) as Corrections Officer to replace Bobby Logan Smith and hire Myles Underwood (G5/3) as Corrections Officer replacing Joe Seth Butler. He requested approval to Terminate Sara Slaton (Corrections Sgt.) and to promote Tim Smith to Ms. Slaton's position as Corrections Sgt (G6A).

Mr. Wootten made a motion to granting the request for both the jail and sheriff's office personnel changes. Mr. Kuykendall seconded the Motion. All members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

Maintenance

<u>Boiler Bid</u>—Mr. Shelton requested the Commission's approval to research and post bids for the Boiler System at the Courthouse stating it is over 20 years old and will soon need replaced.

Mr. Kuykendall made a motion to honor the request. Mr. Wootten seconded the motion. All members voting affirmatively, motion carried to post bids.

President Harcrow notified the audience that the next meeting will be September 29, 2020 and asked for a motion to adjourn.

adjourned.
Ricky Harcrow, President
Shane Wootten, Commissioner District I
ABSENT DUE TO COVID-19
Scot Westbrook, Commissioner District II
Chris Kuykendall, Commissioner District III
ABSENT DUE TO COVID-19
Lester Black, Commissioner District IV

Mr. Wooten made a motion to adjourn. The President declared no objections and ordered the meeting