The DeKalb County Commission met in regular session on Tuesday, February 25, 2020 at 10:00 a.m. in the DeKalb County Activities Building (Courthouse Annex). Those present were President Ricky Harcrow, Shane Wootten, Scot Westbrook, Chris Kuykendall, and Lester Black.

The meeting was called to order by President Harcrow. Mr. Wootten delivered the invocation and Mr. Kuykendall lead the Pledge.

It was moved by Mr. Westbrook, seconded by Mr. Wootten all members voting affirmatively, motion carrying to dispense with the reading of the minutes and to accept them as presented in written format.

## **Leadership DeKalb—President Harcrow**

President Harcrow recognized and thanked Leadership DeKalb for attending the meeting and for the work they do in the County. Dave Latham, Pastor of Grace Presbyterian Church, spoke to the Commission on behalf of Leadership DeKalb. Pastor Latham noted that Leadership DeKalb has an event planned on April 14<sup>th</sup> called "DeKalb Cares Day". They have a website with all the pertinent information (<a href="https://www.dekalbcares.com">www.dekalbcares.com</a>).

# Road Department—Tom Broyles

<u>Maintenance Update</u>—Mr. Broyles stated that the significant amount of rain has delayed road work and is causing washouts on several county roads, but none have sustained major damage. Mr. Broyles also told the Commission he expects to have the third patch truck ready to start work today and they are waiting on 6 dump trucks to be delivered.

### **Engineering—Ben Luther**

<u>Award DRF Bid</u>—Mr. Luther requested the Commission award the DRF Bid to Corrective Asphalt who submitted a bid for \$76,551.00 (only bidder) for various roads in District 1.

Mr. Wootten made a motion to award the Bid to Corrective Asphalt, with a second from Mr. Westbrook, all members voting affirmatively motion carried.

<u>Update Flood Damage Prevention Ordinance</u>—Mr. Luther presented an update to the 2011 Flood Damage Prevention Ordinance required by the state to adopted a new flood plan and added language to the plan.

Mr. Black made a motion to approve the update, with a second from Mr. Westbrook, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried (Ordinance on file in the Engineer's Office).

## **EMA**—Michael Posey

<u>Training</u>—Mr. Posey requested permission for Eric Middlebrook to attend EMA Basic Academy.

Mr. Kuykendall made a motion to approve the request, with a second from Mr. Westbrook, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

<u>ATV Bid Award</u>—Mr. Posey requested the Commission award the ATV Bid to Boykin Tractor in the amount of \$13,675.00 for the base unit, plus any upgrade options requested by the Fire Association. Note: This ATV is funded with a 100% federal grant through the EMA for use by the County Fire Association. Bids are as follows:

Boykin (Rainsville) \$13,675 (24.8HP)

Boykin (Rainsville) \$13,240 (21.6HP – does not meet specs)

Powerquip (Albertville) \$14,756 (does not meet specs)
All Terrain Solutions (Canada) \$100,000 (exceeds grant proceeds)

Mr. Westbrook made a motion to award the bid to Boykin Tractor, with a second from Mr. Wootten, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

### Sheriff's Office—David Smith

<u>Personnel</u>—Chief Smith requested the Commission hire Justin Bailey to replace Sam Young as a Corrections Officer.

Mr. Wootten made a motion to approve the request, with a second from Mr. Westbrook, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

President Harcrow notified the audience that the next meeting would be on Tuesday, March 10, 2020. He asked for a motion to adjourn.

Mr. Westbrook made a motion to adjourn. The President declared no objections and ordered the meeting adjourned.

Ricky Harcrow, President
Shane Wootten, Commissioner District I
Scot Westbrook, Commissioner District II
Chris Kuykendall, Commissioner District III
Lester Black, Commissioner District IV