The DeKalb County Commission met in regular session on Tuesday, January 28, 2020 at 10:00 a.m. in the DeKalb County Activities Building (Courthouse Annex). Those present were President Ricky Harcrow, Shane Wootten, Scot Westbrook, and Lester Black. Absent was Chris Kuykendall.

The meeting was called to order by President Harcrow and delivered the invocation and Mr. Westbrook lead the Pledge.

It was moved by Mr. Westbrook, seconded by Mr. Wootten all members voting affirmatively, motion carrying to dispense with the reading of the minutes and to accept them as presented in written format.

Engineering—Ben Luther

<u>Preliminary Plat—Mentone Mtn Escape</u>—Mr. Luther presented a Plat for Mentone Mtn Escape for a proposed 20 lot development on CR 641. Mr. Luther stated that Mr. Ed Waters had provided a survey for the preliminary plat, all of the adjoining land owners, as well as SMEC and Fort Payne Water all have been notified by letter as required by law. Mr. Luther requested the Commission accept this proposed Plat for development.

Mr. Wootten made a motion to approve the plat, with a second from Mr. Westbrook, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

<u>Rebuild Alabama Bid Award</u>—Mr. Luther requested the Commission to award the County Transportation Plan Bid to Charles Watts in the amount of \$1,458,359.52 (see Engineer Bid File).

Mr. Westbrook made a motion to award the bid to Charles Watts, with a second from Mr. Black, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

<u>FY 2020 HRRR Resolution</u>—Mr. Luther requested the Commission to adopt a resolution on the 2020 High Risk Rural Roads Program to replace signage on CR 89 going into the DeSoto State Park.

Mr. Wootten made a motion to adopt the following resolution, with a second from Mr. Black, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried:

COMMISSION MEMBERS

SHANE WOOTTEN DISTRICT I

SCOT WESTBROOK DISTRICT II

THE DeKALB COUNTY COMMISSION RICKY HARCROW, PRESIDENT

MATT G. SHARP, ADMINISTRATOR

SUITE 200 111 GRAND AVE., S.W. FORT PAYNE, AL 35967 256-845-8500 PHONE 256-845-8502 FAX

COMMISSION MEMBERS

CHRIS KUYKENDALL

LESTER BLACK DISTRICT IV

RESOLUTION

Resolution No. 20-6/28-0/

COUNTY OF DEKALB

Project No. DCP 25-89-19

STATE OF ALABAMA

2020 High Risk Rural Roads (HRRR) Program Traffic Control Device Project

WHEREAS, the County Commission of DeKalb County, Alabama, is desirous of constructing or improving, by force account, by contract or both, a section of this road included in the DeKalb County Road System and described as follows:

Updating of Traffic Signage to current retroreflectivity standards along County Road #89 (Desoto Parkway NE) from State Road #35 to the entrance of Desoto State Park

WHEREAS, the County agrees to all of the provisions of the County-wide agreement executed between the State and the County covering preliminary engineering by State forces and equipment on the project, and

WHEREAS, the County agrees to all of the provisions of any agreement which has been executed covering the construction of the project.

Done at the regular session of the Commission of DeKalb County, this day of January 28, 2020.

DeKalb County Commission

Governing Body

President

Chris Kuykendall

Rebuild Alabama Grant Awards—Mr. Luther notified the Commission that the State had approved the County's application for a \$250,000 Federal Grant to do repairs on CR 51 in Collinsville.

Surplus Vehicles—Matt Sharp

Mr. Sharp request the Commission declare the following vehicles surplus and solicit bids:

2019 CHEVROLET TAHOE PPV (D1928) VIN #1GNLCDEC2KR198228 MILEAGE – Approx – 17,000

2019 CHEVROLET TAHOE PPV (D1948) VIN #1GNLCDEC5KR198448 MILEAGE – Approx – 23,000

2019 CHEVROLET TAHOE PPV (D19506) VIN #1GNLCDEC9KR203506 MILEAGE – <u>Approx – 24,000</u>

2019 CHEVROLET TAHOE PPV (D1955) VIN #1GNLCDEC6KR202555 MILEAGE – <u>Approx – 18,000</u>

2019 CHEVROLET TAHOE PPV (D19906) VIN #1GNLCDECXR196906 MILEAGE – Approx – 31,000

2020 CHEVROLET TAHOE SSV (CC2027) VIN # 1GNSKFKC9LR138527 MILEAGE – Approx - 21,000

2017 CHEVROLET TAHOE SSV (CC-CM01) VIN # 1GNSKFKC9HR290993 MILEAGE – Approx – 32,000

2016 FORD F250 (EMA1647) VIN #1T7Q2BT4GEC72547 MILEAGE – Approx – 44,000

2019 CHEVROLET Z71 (CC1935) VIN #3GCUYDED8KG205335 MILEAGE – <u>Approx – 14,000</u>

2019 CHEVROLET Z71 (CC1979) VIN #3GCUYDED3KG207879 MILEAGE – Approx – 9,000 2019 CHEVROLET Z71 (ENG1977) VIN #3GCUYDED6KG204887 MILEAGE – Approx - 12,000

2019 BLACK Z71 4X4 (CT1934) VIN # 1GCUYDED2KZ368434 MILEAGE – <u>Approx – 10,000</u>

2019 NORTH SKY BLUE Z71 4X4 (CT19215) VIN # 1GCUYDED4KZ373215 MILEAGE – Approx – 14,000

2019 SILVER Z71 4X4 (CT1957) VIN # 1GCUYDED0KZ375057 MILEAGE – <u>Approx - 13,000</u>

2019 BLACK Z71 4X4 (CT1972) VIN # 1GCUYDED3KZ374372 MILEAGE – <u>Approx - 11,000</u>

2019 SILVER Z71 4X4 VIN # 1GCUYDED0KZ374815 MILEAGE – <u>Approx</u> – 15,000

2019 NORTH SKY BLUE Z71 4X4 VIN # 1GCUYDED1KZ374497 MILEAGE – Approx – 13,000

Also declare the following surplus and send these vehicles to auction:

D47 - 2010 Ford Explorer

D69 – 2010 Ford Explorer

D89 – 2010 Ford Explorer

D206 – 2011 Ford Crown Vic

D208 – 2011 Ford Crown Vic

CO43 – 2012 Ford F350 Van

CO44 – 2012 Ford F350 Van

Mr. Black made a motion to declare the vehicles surplus and request bids and/or auction, with a second from Mr. Wootten, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

Commission Personnel—Matt Sharp

Mr. Sharp requested the Commission post an Insurance Coordinator position for the County Commission Office to replace the vacancy left when Connie Bell retired.

Mr. Westbrook made a motion to post the position, with a second from Mr. Black all members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

Sheriff's Office—David Smith

Chief Correctional Officer David Smith requested the Commission accept the resignation of Sam Young, Seth Greene, and Misty Williams.

Mr. Wootten made a motion to accept the resignations, with a second from Mr. Westbrook, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

Mr. Smith requested the Commission transfer Wendy Wright from PT clerk to FT clerk at the jail (no change in paygrade) to replace Andrea Woodall who will be moving with Investigators to the new offices above the Revenue Commissioner Building.

Mr. Wootten made a motion to approve the transfer, with a second from Mr. Black, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

Mr. Smith requested the Commission combine two PT LPN positions and make that a FT LPN position.

Mr. Wootten made a motion to approve the request, with a second from Mr. Westbrook, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

Mr. Smith requested the Commission hire Meghan Diamond for the FT LPN position.

Mr. Black made a motion to approve the request, with a second from Mr. Westbrook, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

President Harcrow notified the audience that the next meeting would be on Tuesday, February 11, 2020. He asked for a motion to adjourn.

Mr. Westbrook made a motion to adjourn. The President declared no objections and ordered the meeting adjourned.

Ricky Harcrow, President
Shane Wootten, Commissioner District I
Scot Westbrook, Commissioner District II
Absent
Chris Kuykendall, Commissioner District III
Lester Black, Commissioner District IV