The DeKalb County Commission met in regular session on Tuesday, December 10, 2019 at 10:00 a.m. in the DeKalb County Activities Building (Courthouse Annex). Those present were President Ricky Harcrow, Shane Wootten, Scot Westbrook, Chris Kuykendall, and Lester Black.

The meeting was called to order by President Harcrow and he delivered the invocation and Mr. Kuykendall lead the Pledge.

It was moved by Mr. Westbrook, seconded by Mr. Wootten all members voting affirmatively, motion carrying to dispense with the reading of the minutes and to accept them as presented in written format.

Representative Nathaniel Ledbetter Presentation

President Harcrow recognized Representative Nathaniel Ledbetter for his dedication to our County and Municipalities and thanked him for his willingness to go above and beyond to assist our County. President Harcrow presented Representative Ledbetter with a plaque for dedication and service to the House passage of Act 2019-132, providing local and county government with more attractive retirement benefits in order to recruit and maintain quality employees.

Retirement Recognition

<u>County Attorney Charles Mauney</u>--President Harcrow recognized the County Attorney, Charles Mauney for his dedicated service to our County for the past 11 years and presented Mr. Mauney with a plaque. President Harcrow thanked Mr. Mauney and wished him nothing but the best in his retirement.

Council on Aging--Emily McCamy

<u>Update</u>--Ms. McCamy stated that Thursday, December 12 is the Veterans Breakfast Social. She also noted that Medicare open enrollment ended and they saw 458 people and 224 of those people changed to plans that will save them \$558,000 on their medication for next year.

Masters Games Recognition--Phil Holmes

Mr. Holmes thanked the Commission for allowing him to come on behalf of the Governor's Commission of Physical Fitness and the Masters Games. He recognized Lynn Hixon (best cornhole score), Diane Manning (best women's basketball score), Carmie Pettry and Lynn Hixon (basketball scores), Diane Manning, Dee Vaughn, and Lynn Hixon (high bowling scores, shuffle

board), Patsy Greggs, Diane Manning, Dee Vaughn, and Dorothy Berry (best softball throw). Patricia Anderson (metaled in 4 swimming events), Lynn Hixon, Joyce Rabinowitz, Brenda and Carmie Pettry (5K walk/run), Ralph Jimenez (shuffleboard score), Dee Vaughn (softball throw), Dee Vaughn (bowling score), Diane Manning (bowling score). Mr. Holmes stated that DeKalb County also had the largest group of volunteers for the games.

Road Department--Tom Broyles

<u>Personnel</u>--Mr. Broyles requested the Commission accept the resignation of District 2 crew leader Nathaniel Smith (Note: He may continue working as a heavy equipment operator for a while at a reduced rate of pay).

Mr. Westbrook made a motion to accept the resignation, with a second from Mr. Wootten, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

Mr. Broyles requested the Commission promote Kerry Duncan to District 2 Crew Leader (note: Duncan is transferring to District 2 from District 3).

Mr. Kuykendall made a motion to approve the promotion, with a second from Mr. Westbrook, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

Mr. Broyles requested the Commission hire Danny Bray (did not report to work) and Corey Bouldin as Temp employees and repost 2 open positions.

Mr. Wootten made a motion to approve the request, with a second from Mr. Westbrook, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

IT--Heath Crowe

<u>Server Bid Request</u>--Mr. Crowe requested permission to send out server bids.

Mr. Black made a motion to approve the request, with a second from Mr. Kuykendall, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

Sheriff's Office--Brad Gregg

<u>Personnel</u>--Mr. Gregg requested permission to transfer Brooke Smith from Dispatching to deputy (G7 until she passes certification) and send her to the police academy. Hire Tracy Padgett as PT deputy (G7 – not certified) to replace Dustin Fleming and hire Christine Whitcomb (G6/3 based on 10 years' experience) to replace Brooke Smith in dispatch.

Mr. Westbrook made a motion to approve the transfer and new hires, with a second from Mr. Wootten, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

Mr. Gregg requested the Commission promote Jeff Bain from Sergeant to Lieutenant (no pay change), Greg Brown to Sergeant (G8A/1), SRO Paul Bell to Sergeant (G8A/10 and the BOE will reimburse the pay difference), and promote Chris Zito Corrections Sergeant (G6A/1).

Mr. Wootten made a motion to approve the promotions, with a second from Mr. Westbrook, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

Mr. Gregg requested permission to send Nick Brown to a Crime Scene Management Class, and to send 3 SRO's to DARE training.

Mr. Black made a motion to approve the requested training, with a second from Mr. Westbrook, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

DeKalb County Hospital Board Appointments

President Harcrow, on behalf of each Commissioner recommended the following board members be reappointed to the DeKalb County Hospital (DAS) Board, Michael Posey, District 1; Tony Taylor, District 2; Mike Leath, District 3; Sam Phillips, District 4; and Patti Pope, At Large (President Nomination).

Mr. Kuykendall made a motion to approve the reappointments, with a second from Mr. Wootten, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

President Harcrow notified the audience that the next meeting would be on Tuesday, January 14, 2020. He asked for a motion to adjourn.

Mr. Wootten made a motion to adjourn. The President declared no objections and ordered the meeting adjourned.

Ricky Harcrow, President	

Shane Wootten, Commissioner District I	
Scot Westbrook, Commissioner District II	
Chris Kuykendall, Commissioner District III	
Lester Black, Commissioner District IV	