The DeKalb County Commission met in regular session on Tuesday May 14, 2019 at 10:00 a.m. in the DeKalb County Activities Building (Courthouse Annex). Those present were President Pro Tem Chris Kuykendall, Shane Wootten, Scot Westbrook, and Lester Black.

The meeting was called to order by President Pro Tem Kuykendall. Mr. Luther delivered the invocation and Mr. Black lead the Pledge.

It was moved by Mr. Westbrook seconded by Mr. Wootten all members voting affirmatively, motion carrying to dispense with the reading of the minutes and to accept them as presented in written format.

Road Department

<u>Maintenance Update</u>--Mr. Broyles stated crews are continuing to spray herbicides and mowing throughout the County, also crews are hauling chert and treated base material and doing patching.

<u>Personnel</u>--Mr. Broyles request the Commission post a position at the Road Department that is open due to the retiring of Donnie Lea.

Mr. Wootten made a motion to post the position, with a second from Mr. Westbrook, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

Replacing Equipment--Mr. Broyles

Engineering

<u>CR106 Speed Limit Resolution</u>--Mr. Luther request the Commission pass a resolution to post the speed limit on CR 106 from CR 117 to road 922 at 25 MPH.

Mr. Wootten made a motion to pass the resolution, with a second from Mr. Black, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

Mr. Luther request the Commission pass a resolution post the speed limit on CR 106 from road 922 tot the end of CR 106 at 30 MPH.

Mr. Wootten made a motion to pass the resolution, with a second from Mr. Westbrook, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

<u>CR107 Speed Limit Resolution</u>--Mr. Luther request the Commission pass a resolution posting the speed limit on CR 107 at 25 MPH.

Mr. Westbrook made a motion to pass the resolution, with a second from Mr. Wootten, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

Sheriff's Office

<u>Personnel</u>--Chief Brad Gregg requested the Commission accept the resignation of Dusty Walker.

Mr. Westbrook made a motion to accept the resignation, with a second from Mr. Black, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

Chief Gregg request the Commission hire Tabitha Franklin to replace Mr. Walker, who resigned.

Mr. Wootten made a motion to approve the hiring of Miss Franklin, with a second from Mr.

Westbrook, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried,

Chief Gregg request the Commission hire Brian Folsom to replace Daniel Wilkie, who resigned.

Mr. Black made a motion to approve the hiring of Mr. Folsom, with a second from Mr.

Westbrook, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

Chief Gregg request the Commission temporarily freeze Jordan McGinnis pay for thirteen months while he completes the Police Academy.

Mr. Westbrook made a motion to approve the request, with a second from Mr. Black, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

Rural Public Transportation/Council on Aging

<u>Resolution</u>--Mr. Sharp request the Commission sign a resolution to allow the Rural Public Transportation to apply for a grant.

Mr. Westbrook made a motion to approve the resolution, with a second from Mr. Wootten, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

<u>Resolution</u>--Mr. Sharp request the Commission sign a resolution to allow for matching fund for the RPT grant.

MR. Westbrook made a motion to approve the resolution, with a second from MR. Black, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

Revenue Enforcement

<u>Training</u>--Mr. Sharp request permission for Roger Byrd and Clayborn Simpson to attend required training on August 25-30, 2019

Mr. Wootten made a motion to approve this request, with a second from Mr. Westbrook, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

President Pro Tem Kuykendall notified the audience that the next meeting would be May 28, 2019. He asked for a motion to adjourn.

Mr. Westbrook made a Motion to adjourn. The President Pro Tem declared no objections and ordered the meeting adjourned.

Absent	
Ricky Harcrow,	President

Shane Wootten, Commissioner District I	
Scot Westbrook, Commissioner District II	
Chris Kuykendall, Commissioner District III	
Lester Black, Commissioner District IV	