The DeKalb County Commission met in regular session on Tuesday April 9, 2019 at 10:00 a.m. in the DeKalb County Activities Building (Courthouse Annex). Those present were President Ricky Harcrow, Chris Kuykendall, Shane Wootten, Scot Westbrook, and Lester Black.

The meeting was called to order by President Harcrow. Mr. Wootten delivered the invocation and Mr. Kuykendall lead the Pledge.

It was moved by Mr. Westbrook seconded by Mr. Wootten all members voting affirmatively, motion carrying to dispense with the reading of the minutes and to accept them as presented in written format.

Road Department

<u>Maintenance Update</u>--Mr. Broyles stated work has continued on Tutwiler Gap and the road is expected to reopen next week.

<u>Damage Claim</u>--Mr. Sharp presented a damage claim from Gary Young, stating that his vehicle was damaged by a county truck backing into his vehicle. Mr. Sharp recommended sending the claim to the county insurance for final disposition.

It was moved by Mr. Wootten, seconded by Mr. Westbrook, all members voting affirmatively, motion carrying to forward the damage claim to CRS Insurance.

Engineering

<u>Bituminous Surface Treatment Bid Award</u>—Mr. Luther addressed the Commission concerning the April 4 bid opening of Bituminous Surface Treatment (Tar/Gravel). Bids were sent out to four bidders; however only Charles E. Watts actually submitted bids. His bids were as follows:

Surface Treatment

Α	No Bid
G	\$1.72 (up from \$1.65 last year)
J	\$1.99 (up from \$1.91 last year)
K	\$2.14 (up from \$2.06 last year)
AKG	\$5.20 (up from \$5.01 last year)
AJG	\$5.05 (up from \$4.86 last year)
JG	\$3.70 (up from \$3.56 last year)
KG	\$3.85 (up from \$3.71 last year)
E (polymer)	\$1.56 (up from \$1.51 last year)
G (polymer)	\$1.86 (up from \$1.78 last year)

Triple layer \$3.83 (up from \$3.72 last year)

<u>Strip Patching</u> Treatment G \$2.10 (up from \$1.99 last year)

It was moved by Mr. Wootten, seconded by Mr. Westbrook, all members voting affirmatively, motion carrying to award the Bituminous Treatment Bid to Watts

<u>CR 8 Speed Limit Resolution</u>-- Mr. Luther asked the Commission to adopt a resolution posting the speed limit on CR 8 at 40 mph.

Mr. Westbrook made a motion to adopt the following resolution to set the speed limit on CR 8 at 40 mph, with a second from Mr. Kuykendall, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried:

State of Alabama DeKalb County

RESOLUTION NO. 19-0409-01

WHEREAS, the DeKalb County Commission on the basis of an engineering and traffic investigation determines that the maximum speed permitted under Article 8, Title 32, Chapter 5A, <u>Code of Alabama, 1975</u> for County Road 8 between State Road 68 and State Road 227 is greater than is reasonable and safe under the conditions found to exist on said paved road;

NOW THERFORE IT IS RESOLVED, that the proper maximum speed for County Road 8 between State Road 68 and State Road 227 is set at 40 miles per hour at all times and no person shall operate a motor vehicle in excess of 40 miles per hour on said County Road 8;

IT IS FURTHER RESOLVED, that any violations of this Resolution shall be unlawful and punishable pursuant to Title 32, Chapter 5A, Code of Alabama, 1975.

ADOPTED this the 9th day of April, 2019

a Ricky Harcrow, President

Shane Wootten District 1 Commissioner

And hay had

Chris Krykendall District 3 Commissioner

SWithout

Scot Westbrook District 2 Commissioner

Lester Black District 4 Commissioner

ATTEST:

Matt Sharp

Sheriff's Office

<u>Personnel</u>--Sheriff Welden requested the Commission hire Dustin Walker (G5/3) as a FT Corrections Officer to replace a vacant position.

Mr. Kuykendall made a motion to approve the request, with a second from Mr. Black, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

Sheriff Welden requested the Commission promote Brad Edmondson to Captain (no paychange).

Mr. Wootten made a motion to promote Mr. Edmondson from Lt to Captain, with a second from Mr. Westbrook, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

Sheriff Welden requested the Commission promote Sethe Greene from Sgt to Lieutenant (no paychange).

Mr. Black made a motion to promote Mr. Greene from Sgt to Lieutenant with a second from Mr. Kuykendall, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

Sheriff Welden requested the Commission promote Jeff Bain from Deputy/Investigator to Sergeant (no paychange).

Mr. Westbrook made a motion to promote Mr. Bain from Deputy/Investigator to Sergeant with a second from Mr. Wootten, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

Sheriff Welden requested the Commission promote Willie Underwood from Deputy to Sergeant (G8A).

Mr. Black made a motion to promote Mr. Underwood from Deputy to Sergeant with a second from Mr. Kuykendall, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

Sheriff Welden requested the Commission promote Nathaniel Bates from Deputy/Investigator to Sergeant (no paychange)

Mr. Westbrook, made a motion to promote Mr. Bates from Deputy/Investigator to Sergeant with a second from Mr. Wootten, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

Sheriff Welden requested the Commission promote Andy Brown from Deputy to Sergeant (G8A).

Mr. Black made a motion to promote Mr. Brown from Deputy to Sergeant with a second from Mr. Kuykendall, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

President Harcrow notified the audience that the next meeting would be April 23, 2019. He asked for a motion to adjourn.

Mr. Westbrook made a Motion to adjourn. The President declared no objections and ordered the meeting adjourned.

Ricky Harcrow, President

Shane Wootten, Commissioner District I

Scot Westbrook, Commissioner District II

Chris Kuykendall, Commissioner District III

Lester Black, Commissioner District IV