The DeKalb County Commission met in regular session on Tuesday April 23, 2019 at 10:00 a.m. in the DeKalb County Activities Building (Courthouse Annex). Those present were President Ricky Harcrow, Chris Kuykendall, Shane Wootten, Scot Westbrook, and Lester Black.

The meeting was called to order by President Harcrow. Mr. Black delivered the invocation and Mr. Kuykendall lead the Pledge.

It was moved by Mr. Wootten seconded by Mr. Westbrook all members voting affirmatively, motion carrying to dispense with the reading of the minutes and to accept them as presented in written format.

Road Department

<u>Maintenance Update</u>--Mr. Broyles stated that Tutwiler Gap has reopened and crews have begun hauling treated base material in Districts 1 and 2. Mr. Broyles also stated that work had not begun on Old Highway 35 because they are waiting on utility crews to move some utilities that need to be moved. (*Note: Both Tutwiler Gap and Old Hwy 35 were damaged by flooding that has been declared a disaster by the President – Tutwiler Gap will be funded with FEMA proceeds and Old Hwy 35....or CR 835....will be funded with FEMA funds).*

Sheriff's Office

<u>Personnel</u>--Chief Brad Gregg requested the Commission accept the resignation of Taylor Miller as Correctional Officer (hired PT on 9/16/2018 and promoted to FT on 10/23/2018).

Mr. Wootten made a motion to accept the resignation, with a second from Mr. Westbrook, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

Chief Gregg requested the Commission hire Hannah Eubanks as a Correctional Officer (G5/3) to replace Taylor Miller and hire Kenneth Poole for a maintenance position (at \$15/hr – then to G7 at anniversary date - to be funded partially through the Special Jail Fund).

Mr. Westbrook made a motion to approve the personnel request, with a second from Mr. Black, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

<u>Training</u>--Mr. Smith asked permission for himself and Divell Bell to attend the ACCA training conference on May 28th and 29th.

Mr. Kuykendall made a motion to approve the training request with a second from Mr. Wootten, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

Garbage Service Bid Award--Mr. Harcrow presented the garbage service bids and requested the Commission award the bid to Arrow Disposal Services. (Note: Advanced Disposal recently purchased EC Waste and has since been sold out to Waste Management). Waste Management did not present a bid, and upon advice of legal counsel, the bid by Advanced Disposal was not considered.

Mr. Westbrook made a motion to award the Garage Service Bid to Arrow Disposal, with a second from Mr. Black, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

Council on Aging/Rural Public Transportation

<u>Travel</u>—COA/RPT Director Emily McCamy requested permission to attend the Fun Fest that would require travel out of County.

Mr. Wootten made a motion to approve the travel request with a second from Mr. Westbrook, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

<u>Personnel</u>--Ms. McCamy asked the Commission to hire Russell Beam (G7/1) to replace Glenda Crumley as Transportation Coordinator. Ms. Crumley is retiring after 25 years of service to the County.

Mr. Kuykendall made a motion to approve the hiring of Mr. Beam, with a second from Mr. Wootten, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

President Harcrow notified the audience that the next meeting would be May 14, 2019. He asked for a motion to adjourn.

Mr. Westbrook made a Motion to adjourn. The President declared no objections and ordered the meeting adjourned.

Ricky Harcrow, President

Shane Wootten, Commissioner District I

Scot Westbrook, Commissioner District II

Chris Kuykendall, Commissioner District III

Lester Black, Commissioner District IV