The DeKalb County Commission met in regular session on Tuesday 27, 2018 at 10:00 a.m. in the DeKalb County Activities Building (Courthouse Annex). Those present were President Ricky Harcrow, Shane Wootten, Scot Westbrook, Chris Kuykendall, and Lester Black.

The meeting was called to order by President Harcrow. President Harcrow delivered the invocation and Mr. Kuykendall lead the Pledge.

It was moved by Mr. Westbrook seconded by Mr. Wootten all members voting affirmatively, motion carrying to dispense with the reading of the minutes and to accept them as presented in written format.

## **Council on Aging**

<u>Personnel</u>--Mrs. McCamy request the Commission hire Joyce Rabinowitz for the open Activities Coordinator position.

Mr. Wooten made a motion to approve the request with a second from Mr. Westbrook, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

<u>Master's Games Recognition</u>--Mrs. McCamy recognized the DeKalb County senior citizens that participated in the Masters Games of Alabama. Dorothy Berry, Jean Lyles, Frankie Guffey, Milford Culpepper, Dianne Manning, James Manning, Bobbie Lingerfelt, Charles Simmons, Howard Gilbert, Carmin Pettry, Brenda Pettry, Kay West, Bruce West, Connie Green, Patsy Griggs, and Dee Vaughn were honored at the meeting. Mrs. McCamy told the Commission that The President's Award Hall of Fame was given to Kay and Bruce West of Sylvania who have volunteered for the games for the past six years. This award is selected by the Masters Games' President and is given to the volunteer or staff member that has made an impact on the games and participants.

# **Road Department**

<u>Maintenance Update</u>--Mr. Broyles stated that he did not have a maintenance update at this time. <u>Personne</u>l--Mr. Broyles request the Commission extend the position that was posted at the previous meeting.

Mr. Kuykendall made a motion to extend the post with a second from Mr. Westbrook, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

# Engineering

<u>Traffic Sign Proposal</u>--Mr. Luther presented proposals from Ozark stripping and JC Cheek for stripping to be done on CR 78, 50, and 121. Mr. Luther stated that JC Cheek had the lowest proposal therefore, it was his recommendation to proceed with JC Cheek.

Mr. Kuykendall Made a motion to approve the proposal, with a second from Mr. Black, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

<u>CR 141 Speed Limit Resolution</u>--Mr. Luther request the Commission set the speed limit at 35 mph on CR 141.

Mr. Wootten made a motion to approve this speed limit resolution, with a second from MR. Westbrook, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

CR165 Utility Agreement--

#### Sheriff's Office

<u>Dispatch Personnel</u>--Mr. Langley request the Commission hire Ury Acevedo to replace Christina Ferguson as a PT Dispatcher.

Mr. Kuykendall made a motion to approve the personnel request, with a second from Mr. Black, members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

## DYSC

<u>Coosa Valley Budget Amendment</u>--Mr. Sharp presented an amendment to the 2019 FY Budget for Coosa Valley Youth Services with a decrease of \$25,410.00 from 2018FY. Mr. Westbrook made a motion to approve the budget amendment, with a second from Mr. Wootten, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

### 911 Board

<u>Board Appointment</u>--President Harcrow request the Commission accept the resignation of Charles Centers from the County E911 Board and fill that position with Willie Wright. Mr. Black made a motion to approve the request, with a second from Mr. Kuykendall, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

## **Library Board**

<u>Board Appointment</u>--President Hacrow request the Commission Re-appoint Helen Watkins to the Library Board for another 4 year term.

Mr. Kuykendall made a motion to approve the request, with a second from Mr. Black, members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

<u>Engineering Contract Renewal</u>--President Harcrow stated that Mr. Luther's contract is currently due for renewal and request the Commission approve that renewal.

Mr. Wootten made a motion to approve the renewal of MR. Luther's contract for another 2 years, with a second from MR. Westbrook, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

President Harcrow notified the audience that the next meeting would be on Tuesday December 11, 2018. He asked for a motion to adjourn.

Mr. Westbrook made a Motion to adjourn. The President declared no objections and ordered the meeting adjourned.

Ricky Harcrow, President

Shane Wootten, Commissioner District I

Scot Westbrook, Commissioner District II

Chris Kuykendall, Commissioner District III

Lester Black, Commissioner District IV