The DeKalb County Commission met in regular session on Tuesday October 23, 2018 at 10:00 a.m. in the DeKalb County Activities Building (Courthouse Annex). Those present were President Ricky Harcrow, Shane Wootten, Scot Westbrook, Chris Kuykendall, and Dewitt Jackson.

The meeting was called to order by President Harcrow. President Harcrow delivered the invocation and Mr. Kuykendall lead the Pledge.

It was moved by Mr. Westbrook seconded by Mr. Wootten all members voting affirmatively, motion carrying to dispense with the reading of the minutes and to accept them as presented in written format.

# **Retired Educators Recognition**

President Harcrow stated that it was Retired Educator's Day and asked Ms. Janice Luther to address the Commission. Ms. Luther thanked the Commission for allowing her to come and speak at the meeting. Ms. Luther told the Commission of the volunteer service hours that educators had performed in the past year. She stated that the American Education Week is November 12<sup>th</sup>-16<sup>th</sup>. President Harcrow read a resolution and presented it to Ms. Luther and thanked her and all the educators for the hard work and dedication to their students.

#### **Road Department**

<u>Maintenance Update</u>--Mr. Broyles stated that crews had been working on replacing a bridge on CR 107 and expected it to be wrapped up this week. He also noted that he hoped to have the Reclaimer working tomorrow.

<u>Personnel</u>--Mr. Broyles asked the Commission to accept the resignation of Bradley Higgins. Mr. Jackson made a motion to accept the resignation, with a second from Mr. Westbrook, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

Mr. Broyles requested the Commission post the position vacated by Mr. Higgins.

Mr. Kuykendall made a motion to post the position, with a second from Mr. Westbrook, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

### **Engineering**

<u>CRF Bid Award</u>--Mr. Luther presented a bid from Corrective Asphalt Materials with a unit price of \$1.35 per yard a total of \$242,568.00 for CR 137, CR 140 and CR 141 in District 1.

Mr. Wootten made a motion to award the bid to Corrective Asphalt Materials, with a second from Mr. Westbrook, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

## **Revenue Commission**

<u>Personnel</u>--Mr. Wilks requested the Commission accept the resignation of Royce Lader, change Tiffany Graben to real property (no grade change), move Ashley Anderson from Revenue Commission to Property Tax (no grade change), promote Lindsey Chapman to MN specialist (grade 6A/1), and post tag clerk position vacated by Lindsey Chapman.

Mr. Jackson made a motion to approve the personnel changes, with a second from Mr. Westbrook, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

#### Sheriff's Office

<u>Personnel</u>--Mr. Langley requested the Commission approve the following personnel:

• Hire Jeremy Bell PT School Resource Officer (same pay as retired SRO Officers).

Mr. Wootten made a motion to approve Jeremy Bell as SRO deputy (Tech School), with a second from Mr. Westbrook, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

- Transfer Seth Butler from CO to Transport Officer
- Move Logan Smith and Taylor Miller from PT to FT
- Hire Richard Anderson PT to replace Logan Smith

Mr. Kuykendall made a motion to approve the personnel changes, with a second from Mr. Jackson, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

President Harcrow notified the audience that the next meeting would be an Organization Meeting for the new Commissioner Term on Wednesday November 14, 2018. He asked for a motion to adjourn.

Mr. Jackson made a Motion to adjourn. The President declared no objections and ordered the meeting adjourned.

Ricky Harcrow, President

Shane Wootten, Commissioner District I

Scot Westbrook, Commissioner District II

Chris Kuykendall, Commissioner District III

Dewitt Jackson, Commissioner District IV