The DeKalb County Commission met in regular session on Tuesday October 9, 2018 at 10:00 a.m. in the DeKalb County Activities Building (Courthouse Annex). Those present were President Ricky Harcrow, Shane Wootten, Scot Westbrook, Chris Kuykendall, and Dewitt Jackson.

The meeting was called to order by President Harcrow. President Harcrow delivered the invocation and Mr. Kuykendall lead the Pledge.

It was moved by Mr. Wootten seconded by Mr. Westbrook all members voting affirmatively, motion carrying to dispense with the reading of the minutes and to accept them as presented in written format.

ACCA Award

President Harcrow recognized DeKalb County Representative and House Majority Leader Nathaniel Ledbetter for his help in passing Act 2018-94 through the Legislature. This Act allows Counties to more promptly respond to emergency situations. President Harcrow thanked Representative Ledbetter for his hard work and diligence in getting this Act passed. Representative Ledbetter thanked the entire Commission for all their hard work as well as their friendship. Representative Ledbetter said that he appreciated the award and would do anything that he could to help the Commission and the citizens of DeKalb County.

Road Department

<u>Maintenance Update</u>--Mr. Broyles stated that the County's portion of the CDBG Grant project in District 1 has been completed. A crew has started reclaiming portions of CR 712 and should finish it up today. Also, the storage tank has been set on the new District 1 property.

<u>Personnel</u>--Mr. Broyles requested the Commission accept the resignation of Eddie Freeman and hire Brandon Young as a temporary employee.

Mr. Westbrook made a motion to approve the request to hire Brandon Young as a temporary employee (G5/1) in the Road Department, with a second from Mr. Wootten, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

Sheriff's Office

<u>Personnel</u>--Chief Langley requested the Commission accept the resignation of Wilson Kuykendall and post that position.

Mr. Jackson made a motion to accept the resignation of Wilson Kuykendall and post this Correctional Officer position, with a second from Mr. Westbrook, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

<u>US Marshal Update</u>--Mr. Langley told the Commission that he had been in talks with the US Marshal's Office (Western Division of Tennessee) to house an additional 15-20 new inmates. Mr. Langley stated that he and Mr. Sharp had looked at the numbers and this could be an increase in revenue for the County. This would require hiring two new transport officers and a new transport van. Mr. Langley said that even with these additional cost it would still be a positive revenue for the Jail. Mr. Sharp agreed.

Mr. Kuykendall made a motion to approve the request, with a second from Mr. Wootten, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

Commission

<u>Worker's Comp Resolution</u>--Mr. Sharp presented the following resolution to provide for a longevity bonus and a three (3) year participation agreement for the County's Worker's Comp Program.

RESOLUTION NO. 18-1009-01

WHEREAS, DeKalb County is a member of the Association of County Commissions of Alabama Workers' Compensation Self-Insurers Fund, Inc. ("the Fund") on October 1, 2018; and

WHEREAS, the County's participation in the Fund has been a significant benefit to the County since becoming a member; and

WHEREAS, the representation and service provided by the Fund continues to be in the best interest of DeKalb County and its officials and employees; and

WHEREAS, the Fund is providing a 2021 Longevity Bonus to those county participants who remain active members of the Fund through at least September 30, 2021; and

WHEREAS, DeKalb County would benefit by voluntarily agreeing to extend its contracted annual participation in the Fund for a three-year period concluding on September 30, 2021, and which time the provisions of the existing contract between DeKalb County and the Fund will remain in force unless altered as provided therein.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the DeKalb County Commission that it renews its participation in the Fund through September 30, 2021, and hereby directs its President to immediately provide a copy of this resolution to the Fund.

AND, BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, by the DeKalb County Commission that, should it voluntarily withdraw from the Fund prior to September 30, 2021 that it agrees to return the 2021 Longevity Bonus provided by the Fund, plus five (5) percent annual interest.

ADOPTED this the 9th day of October 2018.

Ricky Harcrow, President

Matt G. Sharp, Soministrator

ATTESTED BY:

Mr. Westbrook made a motion to adopt the Worker's Compensation Resolution with a second from Mr. Wootten, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

President Harcrow notified the audience that the next meeting would be on Tuesday October 23rd, 2018. He asked for a motion to adjourn.

Mr. Jackson made a Motion to adjourn. The President declared no objections and ordered the meeting adjourned.

Ricky Harcrow, President

Shane Wootten, Commissioner District I

Scot Westbrook, Commissioner District II

Chris Kuykendall, Commissioner District III

Dewitt Jackson, Commissioner District IV