The DeKalb County Commission met in regular session on Tuesday August 14, 2018 at 10:00 a.m. in the DeKalb County Activities Building (Courthouse Annex). Those present were President Ricky Harcrow, Shane Wootten, Scot Westbrook, Chris Kuykendall, and Dewitt Jackson.

The meeting was called to order by President Harcrow. Mr. Wootten delivered the invocation and Mr. Kuykendall lead the Pledge.

It was moved by Mr. Westbrook seconded by Mr. Jackson all members voting affirmatively, motion carrying to dispense with the reading of the minutes and to accept them as presented in written format.

EMA

<u>Remodel</u>--Mr. Clifton told the Commission about the complete remodel that is taking place in the old 911 dispatch area downstairs. Mr. Clifton stated that the EOC would be taking the newly renovated space. Mr. Clifton ask the Commission to approve the renovation for this project. Mr. Jackson made a motion to approve the renovations, with a second from Mr. Wootten, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

Road Department

<u>Maintenance Update</u>--Mr. Broyles stated that the Road Department had been doing prep work in District 1 for the CDBG Grant Project; other crews have been hauling chert and spraying herbicide throughout the county.

<u>Damage Claim</u>--Mr. Sharp presented a Notice of Claim filed against the County from Emily Walker. Mr. Sharp stated that Ms. Walker claims injury due to a missing stop sign on CR 26 and CR 17 in August 2017. Mr. Sharp made the recommendation to forward this claim on to the County's insurance provider for final disposition.

Mr. Westbrook made a motion to forward the Claim, with a second from Mr. Kuykendall, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

Engineering

<u>CR 212 Speed Limit Resolution</u>--Mr. Luther stated that Mr. Kuykendall asked him to look at posting the speed limit on CR 212 up to the Landfill. Mr. Luther told the Commission with the improvements to the road traffic would be heavier and requested the Commission to post the speed limit at 25 mph.

Mr. Kuykendall made a motion to approve the following resolution posting a speed limit on CR 212, with a second from Mr. Westbrook, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried:

State of Alabama DeKalb County

RESOLUTION NO. 18-08/4-01

WHEREAS, the DeKalb County Commission on the basis of an engineering and traffic investigation, determines that the maximum speed permitted under Article 8, Title 32, Chapter 5A, Code of Alabama, 1975 for County Road 212 between County Road 51 and County Road 209 is greater than is reasonable and safe under the conditions found to exist on said paved road;

NOW THERFORE IT IS RESOLVED, that the proper maximum speed for County Road 212 between County Road 51 and County Road 209 is set at 25 miles per hour at all times and no person shall operate a motor vehicle in excess of 25 miles per hour on said portion of County Road 212;

IT IS FURTHER RESOLVED, that any violations of this Resolution shall be unlawful and punishable pursuant to Title 32, Chapter 5A, Code of Alabama, 1975.

arcrow, President

ADOPTED this the 14th day of August, 2018.

Shane Wootten
District 1 Commissioner

Chris Kuykendall District 3 Commissioner

Matt Shar

Scot Westbrook District 2 Commissioner

Dewitt Jackson
District 4 Commissioner

Revenue Commission

ATTEST:

<u>Personnel</u>--Mr. Wilks requested the Commission approve the hiring of Kristin Newman to fill a position that had been offered to Jennifer Morgan, who declined the position.

Mr. Wootten made a motion to approve the request to hire Kristin Newman as a tag clerk in the Revenue Commissioner's Office (G4/1), with a second from Mr. Westbrook, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

Sheriff's Office

<u>Personnel</u>--Mr. Sharp on behalf of the Sheriff's Office requested the Commission transfer Christopher Rogers from PT Corrections Officer to FT Correctional Officer (no change in pay).

Mr. Jackson made a motion to approve the transfer of Christopher Rogers from PT to FT Correctional Officer, with a second from Mr. Westbrook, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

Council on Aging/Rural Public Transportation

Aging Statistics--Ms. McCamy spoke about the many programs offered by the Council on Aging to assist the people throughout the County. Some of the many programs are assistance with prescription medication, choosing Medicare supplements, and various other programs. For the 2017FY, the local COA has saved 94 seniors \$73,200 in legal services; saved 935 residents \$680,437 in insurance counseling and assistance through the SHIP program; and have saved 159 low income seniors save \$902,287 on 854 prescriptions. Also speaking on behalf of these programs were Dianne Callahan and Lynn Hixon.

<u>Personnel</u>--Ms. McCamy requested the Commission hire Jean Reed for the Fort Payne Senior Center G3/1.

Mr. Wootten made a motion to approve the hire of Jean Reed as the Fort Payne Senior Center Manager, with a second from Mr. Westbrook, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

<u>Transportation Resolution</u>--Ms. McCamy presented a 3rd Party resolution from the Section 5311 program. Mrs. McCamy told the Commission this resolution is an annual requirement for this program.

Mr. Kuykendall made a motion to approve the following resolution, with a second from Mr. Jackson, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried:

THE DeKALB COUNTY COMMISSION RICKY HARCROW, PRESIDENT

COMMISSION MEMBERS

SHANE WOOTTEN DISTRICT I

SCOT WESTBROOK DISTRICT II MATT G. SHARP, ADMINISTRATOR SUITE 200 111 GRAND AVE. S.W. FORT PAYNE, AL 35967 256-845-8500 PHONE 256-845-8502 FAX COMMISSION MEMBERS

CHRIS KUYKENDALL DISTRICT III

DEWITT JACKSON DISTRICT IV

RESOLUTION NUMBER 18-0814-02

RESOLUTION OF THE GOVERNING BODY Ricky Harcrow, President of the DeKalb County Commission is authorized to enter into agreement on behalf of DeKalb County Commission with third party contracting agencies for the purpose of providing general public transportation needs.

RESOLUTION

Resolved that Ricky Harcrow, President of the DeKalb County Commission enters into agreement with third party transportation service contracting agencies during Fiscal Year 2019 for eligible public transportation services.

Further resolved that Ricky Harcrow, President of the DeKalb County Commission agrees to provide third party transportation services to contracting agencies at approved fully allocated cost rates.

Further resolved that Ricky Harcrow, President of the DeKalb County Commission authorizes the DeKalb County Commission to execute the aforementioned Agreements and any amendments thereto.

CERTIFICATION

I hereby certify that the following resolution is a true and correct copy of the resolution presented to and adopted by DeKalb County Commission at a duly authorized meeting held on the 14">14">14"day of Lugust, 2018 as shown by the minutes of the meeting in my possession.

DeKall County
"The Northeast Gateway to Alabama The Beautiful"

President Harcrow notified the audience that the next meeting would be on Tuesday August 28, 2018. He asked for a motion to adjourn.

Mr. Jackson made a motion to adjourn. The President declared no objections and ordered the meeting adjourned.

Ricky Harcrow, President

Shane Wootten, Commissioner District I

Scot Westbrook, Commissioner District II

Chris Kuykendall, Commissioner District III

Dewitt Jackson, Commissioner District IV