The DeKalb County Commission met in regular session on Tuesday July 24, 2018 at 10:00 a.m. in the DeKalb County Activities Building (Courthouse Annex). Those present were President Ricky Harcrow, Scot Westbrook, Chris Kuykendall, and Dewitt Jackson. Shane Wootten was absent.

The meeting was called to order by President Harcrow. Mr. Westbrook delivered the invocation and Mr. Kuykendall lead the Pledge.

It was moved by Mr. Westbrook seconded by Mr. Jackson all members voting affirmatively, motion carrying to dispense with the reading of the minutes and to accept them as presented in written format.

Engineering

<u>CDBG Project Bid Award</u>--Mr. Luther stated one bid had been received from Charles Watts, for the Bituminous Road treatment for the CDBG grant project (\$3.79/sy – Total Bid - \$158,262.82).

Mr. Jackson made a motion to award the bid to Charles Watts, with a second from Mr. Kuykendall, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

Sheriff's Office

<u>Personnel</u>--Mr. Sharp on behalf of the Sheriff's Office requested the Commission hire Daniel Wilkie as a PT Dispatcher to replace Brian Whitmoyer.

Mr. Westbrook made a motion to approve the request, with a second from Mr. Kuykendall, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

Council on Aging

<u>Personnel</u>--Mr. Sharp asked the Commission to accept the resignation of Barbara McSpadden as the Director of the Fort Payne Senior Center.

Mr. Jackson made a motion to accept the resignation, with a second from Mr. Westbrook, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

Mr. Sharp requested the Commission post the position vacated by Barbara McSpadden and authorize Ms. McCamy to place a person in the position subject to Commission approval.

Mr. Westbrook made a motion to post the position, with a second from Mr. Jackson, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

Housekeeping

<u>Retirement</u>--President Harcrow requested the Commission accept the resignation/retirement of Sara Venable. President Harcrow thanked Ms. Venable for her service to the County and wished her well in her retirement.

Mr. Kuykendall made a motion to accept Sara Venable's resignation, with a second from Mr. Westbrook, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

President Harcrow asked the Commission to post the position vacated by Sara Venable's retirement.

Mr. Westbrook made a motion to approve the request, with a second from Mr. Jackson, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

President Harcrow notified the audience that the next meeting would be on Tuesday August 14, 2018. He asked for a motion to adjourn.

Mr. Jackson made a Motion to adjourn. The President declared no objections and ordered the meeting adjourned.

Ricky Harcrow, President

Absent Shane Wootten, Commissioner District I

Scot Westbrook, Commissioner District II

Chris Kuykendall, Commissioner District III

Dewitt Jackson, Commissioner District IV