The DeKalb County Commission met in regular session on Tuesday April 24, 2018 at 10:00 a.m. in the DeKalb County Activities Building (Courthouse Annex). Those present were President Ricky Harcrow, Shane Wootten, Scot Westbrook, Chris Kuykendall, and Dewitt Jackson.

The meeting was called to order by President Harcrow. President Harcrow delivered the invocation and Mr. Kuykendall lead the Pledge.

It was moved by Mr. Kuykendall seconded by Mr. Wootten all members voting affirmatively, motion carrying to dispense with the reading of the minutes and to accept them as presented in written format.

President Harcrow recognized the Plainview Boys Varsity Basketball for the accomplishment of winning the State 3A Basketball Championship. Each Commissioner as well as Mr. Sharp and Mr. Mauney congratulated the players and Coaches on the accomplishment. President Harcrow presented a resolution for the Player and Coaches.

Mr. Jackson made a motion with a second from Mr. Kuykendall to pass the resolution, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

## **Road Department**

<u>Maintenance Update</u>--Mr. Broyles told the Commission that chert is being hauled and bush cutting and mowing will be starting this week if weather permits.

## **Engineering**

<u>ALDOT Funding Agreement</u>--Mr. Luther presented an ALDOT funding agreements for CR 20 and 843, stating that the agreements are required by the State for the work that will be done. The agreement is for 8.0 miles of resurfacing and traffic striping on CR 20 and CR 843 from Hwy 68 to Hwy 75. The total estimated costs of the project is \$844,200, with the County's local match being \$168,840.

Mr. Westbrook made a motion to approve the agreements and adopt the following resolution, with a second from Mr. Wootten, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried:

RESOLUTION NUMBER 1	8-0424-01
---------------------	-----------

BE IT RESOLVED, by the County Commission of DeKalb County, Alabama, that the County enter into an agreement with the State of Alabama; acting by and through the Alabama Department of Transportation for:

Resurfacing and traffic stripe on CR-20 and CR-843 from SR-68 to SR-75 for approximately 8.0 miles. Project #ST-025-888-019, CPMS Ref. # 100068260;

which agreement is before this Commission, and that the agreement be executed in the name of the County, by the Chairman of the Commission for and on its behalf and that it be attested by the County Clerk and the seal of the County affixed thereto.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that upon the completion of the execution of the agreement by all parties, that a copy of such agreement be kept of record by the County Clerk.

Passed, adopted, and approved this 24th day of April , 20 18

ATTESTED:

Sheriff's Office

<u>Personnel</u>--Mr. Edmondson requested the Commission accept the resignation of Daniel Willkie and Colby Sanders, and the termination of Kayla Ignacio.

Mr. Wootten made a motion to accept the resignations and termination, with a second from Mr. Westbrook, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

Mr. Edmondson then requested the Commission hire Cody Dupree (G5/1) to replace Daniel Willkie as a full-time Dispatcher, hire Jo Nelson (G5/1) to replace Colby Sanders as a part time Dispatcher, hired Jake Clanton (G5/1) as a fulltime Corrections Officer to replace Justin Langston, and hire Regina Willis (\$17/hr) as a part time LPN to replace Jericka Brumbelo.

Mr. Jackson made a motion to accept the new hires, with a second from Mr. Westbrook, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

<u>Jail Training</u>--Mr. Edmondson requested permission for Jonathan Langley and Tiffany Graham to attend the ACCA Jail Administrators Training in Prattville, Alabama.

Mr. Wootten made a motion to approve the training with a second from Mr. Westbrook, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

## **CED Mental Health**

<u>Board Appointments</u>--President Harcrow asked the Commission to appoint Emily McCamy and Jonathan Langley to the CED Mental Health Board.

Mr. Wootten made a motion to approve the appointments, with a second from Mr. Westbrook, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

President Harcrow notified the audience that the next meeting would be on Tuesday May 8, 2018. He asked for a motion to adjourn.

Mr. Jackson made a Motion to adjourn. The President declared no objections and ordered the meeting adjourned.

Ricky Harcrow, President

Shane Wootten, Commissioner District I

Scot Westbrook, Commissioner District II

Chris Kuykendall, Commissioner District III

Dewitt Jackson, Commissioner District IV