The DeKalb County Commission met in regular session on Tuesday January 9, 2018 at 10:00 a.m. in the DeKalb County Activities Building (Courthouse Annex). Those present were Ricky Harcrow, President, Shane Wootten, Scot Westbrook, Chris Kuykendall, and Dewitt Jackson.

The meeting was called to order by President Harcrow. Mr. Wootten delivered the invocation and Mr. Kuykendall lead the Pledge.

It was moved by Mr. Westbrook seconded by Mr. Wootten all members voting affirmatively, motion carrying to dispense with the reading of the minutes and to accept them as presented in written format.

## **Road Department**

<u>Maintenance Update</u>--Mr. Broyles stated that the extreme cold weather was causing delays in maintenance work. He also stated that it is yet to be determined how much damage may have been done to the road ways because of the freezing temperatures.

<u>Personnel</u>--Mr. Broyles requested the Commission to approve Bradley Higgins to fill a vacant position that was posted at the previous meeting.

Mr. Jackson made a motion to approve the hiring of Bradley Higgins (G5/3), with a second from Mr. Kuykendall, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

## **Voting Location**

Kilpatrick--Mr. Sharp stated that the current voting location for the Kilpatrick Community is at the fire station and the community has requested that it be moved to the Kilpatrick Senior Center.

Mr. Westbrook made a motion to adopt the following resolution to move the Kilpatrick voting location from the fire station to the Kilpatrick Senior Center, with a second from Mr. Wootten, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried:

## RESOLUTION NO. 1**3**-0109-01 KILPATRICK VOTING LOCATION PRECINCT 2, BOX 3

WHEREAS, the DeKalb County Commission is the elected representation of the citizens of DeKalb County; and

WHEREAS, the Kilpatrick Fire Department (located at 101 County Road 370, Crossville, AL 35962) is the current location of the Kilpatrick Voting Location; and

WHEREAS, the citizens of the Kilpatrick Community have built a new Community Center in the heart of the community and wish to relocate the polling place from the Kilpatrick Fire Department to the Kilpatrick Community Center (located at 221 County Road 179, Albertville, AL 35951) for the voters in the Kilpatrick Community for the 2018 Election cycle and beyond; and

WHEREAS, the DeKalb County Commission is authorized by Code Section 17-6-3 and 17-6-4 to select polling places for each precinct;

**NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED** that the DeKalb County Commission does hereby authorize the polling place for Precinct 2, Box 3, to be moved from the Kilpatrick Fire Department to the Kilpatrick Community Center.

DONE THIS 9th day of January 2017.

ATTEST

Ricky Harcrow, President

Matt G. Sharp, Administrator

President Harcrow notified the audience that the next meeting would be on Tuesday, January 23, 2018. He asked for a motion to adjourn.

Mr. Jackson made a Motion to adjourn. The President declared no objections and ordered the meeting adjourned.

Ricky Harcrow, President
Shane Wootten, Commissioner District I
Scot Westbrook, Commissioner District II
Chris Kuykendall, Commissioner District III
Dewitt Jackson, Commissioner District IV