The DeKalb County Commission met in regular session on Tuesday August 15, 2017 at 10:00 a.m. in the DeKalb County Activities Building (Courthouse Annex). Those present were Ricky Harcrow, President, Shane Wootten, Scot Westbrook, Chris Kuykendall, and Dewitt Jackson.

The meeting was called to order by President Harcrow and delivered the invocation and Mr. Westbrook lead the Pledge.

It was moved by Mr. Westbrook, seconded by Mr. Jackson all members voting affirmatively, motion carrying to dispense with the reading of the minutes and to accept them as presented in written format.

Road Department

Road Maintenance Update--Mr. Broyles gave the following updates:

- Bucks Pocket project is moving along. Forms are ready for concrete to be poured today. It will require 5 days to cure. The road should be reopened in a couple of weeks.
- Hauling treated base material to CR 345.
- Chert hauling in District 1 is complete.
- Charles Watts is finished with work in Districts 2 and 4.
- 4 new truck have been delivered with the rest to be delivered by the end of August.
- Training has started on the new Road Graders. County Engineer Ben Luther is doing the classroom training with the operators and Mr. Broyles is doing the hands on training at the Chert Pit.

Rural Public Transportation

<u>Personnel</u>--Mr. Sharp on behalf of Ms. Brewer requested the Commission to transfer Barney L. Dee Vaughn from substitute driver to full time driver (no change in pay).

Mr. Kuykendall made a motion to transfer Mr. Vaughn, with a second from Mr. Wootten, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

DHR Board

<u>Reappointment</u>--President Harcrow stated that Laura Kerby's term on the DHR Board expires this month and Ms. Kerby would like to be reappointed to that board.

Mr. Wootten made a motion to reappoint Laura Kerby to the DHR Board, with a second from Mr. Westbrook, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

CDBG Grant Resolution

Mr. Sharp presented a resolution for local match as part of the CDBG Grant funding that the Commission is applying for in District 1.

Mr. Wootten made a motion to approve the following resolution, with a second from Mr. Westbrook, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried:

	_	
RESOLUTION No. 17-0815-01		
AUTHORIZING AND APPROVING APPLICATION		
FOR COUNTY GRANT FUNDS THROUGH		
THE STATE OF ALABAMA'S CDBG PROGRAM	1	
WHEREAS, the DeKalb County Commission has completed its application for County Grant Funds through the State of Alabama's Community Development Block Grant Program, and		
WHEREAS , the DeKalb County Commission concurs with objectives, needs and program activities proposed therein, and		
WHEREAS , priorities for the proposed program activities adopted by the DeKalb County Commission were determined in accordance with State and Federal guidelines and determinations on eligibility of activities,		
NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE DEKALB COUNTY COMMISSION:		
I. That the DeKalb County Commission shall submit an application to the State of Alabama		
Community Development Block Grant Program for \$256,422.39 in grant funding to		
provide reconstruction, paving and drainage improvements to DeKalb County Roads 608, 1000, 1001 and 1002.		
II. That, should the project be approved, the DeKalb County Commission shall pledge		
\$79,001.18 as "in-kind" match funding via DeKalb County engineering, equipment and labor.		
III. That said application shall be designated as the officials application for DeKalb County		
to be submitted to the Alabama Department of Economic and Community Affairs upon its completion.		
IV. That the President is duly authorized to sign said application for and act on behalf of the DeKalb County Commission and is further authorized to execute all other documents required for application or disbursement of the State of Alabama Community Development Block Grant funds for the DeKalb County Commission.		
ADOPTED THIS THE 15th DAY OF AUGUST, 2017.		
ATTEST: ALT Superior Ricky Harcrow, President Matt G. Sharp, Couply Administrator		

Special Election Run-Off

<u>VFW Polling Site Resolution</u>--Mr. Sharp presented a resolution to move the VFW polling place for the September 26th run-off to the Auditorium at Fort Payne City Hall. Mr. Sharp stated that the reason for the move is because the VFW will be hosting the DeKalb County Fair the week of September 26th; therefore, the VFW Hall will not the available to use.

Mr. Kuykendall made a motion to approve the following resolution, with a second from Mr. Jackson, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried:

RESOLUTION	NO. 17-0815-02
VFW HALI	L (Fort Payne)
	t 3, Box 11
WHEREAS, the DeKalb County of the citizens of DeKalb County; and	Commission is the elected representation
location for the United States Senate Pr	ne has requested a change of voting imary Run-Off Election scheduled for to the Fort Payne City Auditorium; and
	hange is the DeKalb County Fair will be available for use as an election site the
	Commission is authorized by Code Section es for each precinct and this change would
WHEREAS, the VFW Hall current Precinct 3, Box 11;	ntly serves as the Voting Location for
	nd and just cause to temporarily move the d acknowledging that the new polling place on;
DONE THIS 15 th day of August 2	2017.
Richarcon	ATTEST Mutth
Ricky Harcrow, President	Matt G. Sharp, Administrator

President Harcrow notified the audience that the next meeting would be on Tuesday, September 12, 2017. He asked for a motion to adjourn.

Mr. Jackson made a motion to adjourn. The President declared no objections and ordered the meeting adjourned.

Ricky Harcrow, President

Shane Wootten, Commissioner District I

Scot Westbrook, Commissioner District II

Chris Kuykendall, Commissioner District III

Dewitt Jackson, Commissioner District IV