The DeKalb County Commission met in regular session on Tuesday July 11, 2017 at 10:00 a.m. in the DeKalb County Activities Building (Courthouse Annex). Those present were Ricky Harcrow, President, Shane Wootten, Scot Westbrook, Chris Kuykendall, and Dewitt Jackson.

The meeting was called to order by President Harcrow and Mr. Westbrook delivered the invocation and Mr. Kuykendall lead the Pledge.

It was moved by Mr. Wootten, seconded by Mr. Jackson all members voting affirmatively, motion carrying to dispense with the reading of the minutes and to accept them as presented in written format.

### Retirement

<u>Resolution</u>--President Harcrow addressed the Commission regarding a lumpsum payment for Retirees that had been approved the Legislature during the 2017 Legislative Session. The Act authorizes local governments to provide this lumpsum payment to local retirees and will need to be paid by either a lumpsum payment to RSA or through an increase in employer match for one year.

Mr. Kuykendall made a motion to adopt the following Resolution granting the onetime lumpsum payment, with a second from Mr. Westbrook, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried:



# **Road Department**

<u>Road Maintenance Update</u>--Mr. Broyles addressed the Commission with the following maintenance update:

- Crews are patching holes, hauling chert, and finishing up with the first round of herbicide applications this week.
- Crews are also reclaiming roads in District 2.
- Mr. Broyles also stated that he and Mr. Luther had been to Kentucky to evaluate the usedSpreader that he had spoken about at the previous meeting and that Mr. Luther would be preparing a bid package for this item.

<u>Personnel</u>--Mr. Broyles stated that the temporary employee in District 1 had turned in his resignation effective July 10, 2017 and he would like to hire Chance Cordell to fill that position.

Mr. Wooten made a motion to accept the resignation and fill that position with Mr. Cordell (\$10/hr), with a second from Mr. Westbrook, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

<u>Damage Claim</u>--Mr. Sharp presented a damage claim from Danny Thurman who claims his vehicle was damaged on Wade Gap Road as a result of part of the road washing away. Mr. Sharp recommended sending this to Meadowbrook ASI for final disposition.

Mr. Wootten made a motion to send this claim to the County's insurance provider, with a second from Mr. Westbrook, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

# Engineering

<u>Calcium Chloride Bid</u>--Mr. Luther presented the Calcium Chloride Bid from Southeastern Road Treatment, who was the low bid for this year. Mr. Luther requested the Commission award this bid to Southeastern Road Treatment (See bid file).

Mr. Kuykendall made a motion to award the bid to Southeastern Road Treatment, with a second from Mr. Jackson, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

<u>Training</u>--Mr. Luther requested permission for himself and Irby Wallace to attend a Traffic Control Class in Huntsville, AL on August  $8^{th}$  2017.

Mr. Westbrook made a motion to approve the training with a second from Mr. Wootten, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

# **Revenue Commission**

<u>Training</u>--Mr. Wilks requested permission for Beverly Pack, Debbie Steward, Renee Connell, and Susan Shankles to attend the AAAO Conference in Orange Beach on August 8-11, 2017.

Mr. Kuykendall made a motion to approve the training, with a second from Mr. Westbrook, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried. President Harcrow added an admen to the motion stating that Mr. Wilks was not required to request approval from the Commission for required training.

# Sheriff's Office

<u>Personnel</u>--Mr. Edmondson requested the Commission accept the resignation of Troy Brown (Courthouse Security); hire Brian Langston to replace Micah McCrary (as Correctional Officer), and hire Jordan McGinnis to replace William Monroe (as Correctional Officer).

Mr. Westbrook made a motion to approve the request from Mr. Edmondson, with a second from Mr. Wootten, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried to hire Brian Langston and Jordan McGinnis as Correctional Officers (G5/1) and to accept the resignation of Troy Brown (Deputy in Courthouse Security).

### **Animal Shelter**

<u>Training</u>--Mr. Sharp requested on behalf of Mrs. Ledbetter permission for her to attend training on August 3-6, 2017.

Mr. Wootten made a motion to approve the training, with a second from Mr. Westbrook, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

#### **Council on Aging**

<u>Personnel</u>--Mr. Sharp on behalf of Mrs. Brewer requested to transfer Barbara McSpadden and Jenny Mann from First Choice Personnel to the DeKalb County Commission payroll.

Mr. Kuykendall made a motion to approve the request, with a second from Mr. Jackson, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried to hire Barbara McSpadden and Jenny Mann as PT Council on Aging Center Managers (G3/1).

#### **Fyffe Election District**

<u>Setting Hearing</u>--Mr. Sharp requested the Commission set a public hearing date for July 25, 2017 to discuss the District 2 and District 4 voting district lines in the Town of Fyffe.

Mr. Jackson made a motion to approve the request, with a second from Mr. Westbrook, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried to set the Public Hearing on these District Lines for July 25, 2017 during the regular Commission Meeting.

President Harcrow notified the audience that the next meeting would be on Tuesday, July 25, 2017. He asked for a motion to adjourn.

Mr. Jackson made a motion to adjourn. The President declared no objections and ordered the meeting adjourned.

Ricky Harcrow, President

Shane Wootten, Commissioner District I

Scot Westbrook, Commissioner District II

Chris Kuykendall, Commissioner District III

Dewitt Jackson, Commissioner District IV