The DeKalb County Commission met in regular session on Tuesday June 13, 2017 at 10:00 a.m. in the DeKalb County Activities Building (Courthouse Annex). Those present were Ricky Harcrow, President, Scot Westbrook, and Chris Kuykendall.

The meeting was called to order by President Harcrow and delivered the invocation and Mr. Kuykendall lead the Pledge.

It was moved by Mr. Westbrook, seconded by Mr. Kuykendall all members voting affirmatively, motion carrying to dispense with the reading of the minutes and to accept them as presented in written format.

Road Department

Road Maintenance Update—Mr. Broyles stated that they had been patching holes and hauling chert, also they recently did a small bridge replacement on Lookout Mountain. Mr. Broyles also told the Commission they were working on replacing a pipe in a reclaimed road in District One. Mr. Broyles said that the wind and rain were hampering efforts to complete the first round of herbicides.

<u>Personnel</u>--Mr. Broyles recommended Clay Varner to fill the position that was posted at the previous meeting.

Mr. Kuykendall made a motion to approve the recommendation, with a second from Mr. Westbrook, all member voting affirmatively, motion carried.

<u>Software</u>--Mr. Crowe stated that the management software currently in use at the Road Department is severely outdated and needs to be updated. Mr. Crowe said that Mr. Broyles and Mr. Luther had sat through numerous software demonstrations and they had chosen Diversified Computer Services, with the software system County Information Management System. This company and software system was the low bidder on the project.

Mr. Westbrook made a motion to approve the purchase of the new software system, with a second from Mr. Kuykendall, all member voting affirmatively, motion carried.

Sheriff's Office

<u>Personnel</u>--Mr. Langley request the Commission accept the resignation of Craig White effective May 30th, Carissa Butler effective June 16th, and Clay Monroe effective June 30th.

Mr. Kuykendall made a motion to accept the recommendations, with a second from Mr. Westbrook, all member voting affirmatively, motion carried.

Mr. Langley request the Commission hire Adam Jackson to replace Chasity Goza, who resigned at a previous meeting, Crimson Long to replace Carissa Butler, and Demetrious Green part time to replace Anna Gonzales who was promoted to fill time at a previous meeting, and Leigha Hitchcock to replace Auberto Contrez.

Mr. Kuykendall made a motion to approve the request, with a second from Mr. Westbrook, all member voting affirmatively, motion carried.

<u>Vehicle Tracking System</u>--Mrs. Mason stated that the Sheriff's Office currently has a tracking system on several vehicles that is supported through Verizon, however this service is no longer going to be offered by Verizon. Mrs. Mason made the recommendation that the county switch this service to Network Fleet.

Mr. Westbrook made a motion to approve this recommendation, with a second from Mr. Kuykendall, all member voting affirmatively, motion carried.

Revenue Commission

<u>Personnel</u>--Mr. Sharp on behalf of Mr. Wilks request permission from the Commission to post the position that was vacated by Ben Womack at a previous meeting.

Mr. Westbrook made a motion to approve the request, with a second from Mr. Kuykendall, all member voting affirmatively, motion carried.

President Harcrow notified the audience that the next meeting would be on Tuesday, June 27, 2017. He asked for a motion to adjourn.

Mr. Westbrook made a Motion to adjourn. The President declared no objections and ordered the meeting adjourned.

Ricky Harcrow, President	
ABSENT_	
Shane Wootten, Commissioner District	Ι
Scot Westbrook, Commissioner Distric	t II

Chris Kuykendall, Commissioner District III
ABSENT_
Dewitt Jackson, Commissioner District IV