The DeKalb County Commission met in regular session on Tuesday May 9, 2017 at 10:00 a.m. in the DeKalb County Activities Building (Courthouse Annex). Those present were Shane Wootten, Scot Westbrook, Chris Kuykendall and Dewitt Jackson. President Ricky Harcrow was in Montgomery and was absent from the meeting.

The meeting was called to order by President Pro Tem Dewitt Jackson. Tom Broyles delivered the invocation and Mr. Kuykendall lead the Pledge.

It was moved by Mr. Wootten, seconded by Mr. Westbrook all members voting affirmatively, motion carrying to dispense with the reading of the minutes and to accept them as presented in written format.

Road Department

<u>Road Maintenance Update</u>--Mr. Broyles stated that the patch truck crews had been working daily and district crews have been mowing and hauling chert.

Truck Auction--Mr. Broyles stated that he had been contacted by JM Woods Auction Company. They advised him that it would be advantageous for the County to sell its Mack Trucks in the Fall auction as opposed to waiting until next spring. The reason is that the trend for trucks has been toward the Kenworth models. He informed the Commission that JM Woods Auction had stated that they would give a guarantee of slightly more than the purchase price of the Mack Trucks for the Fall Auction; however, the Spring Auction would reduce the guarantee by about 10% (a cost of approximately \$250,000.

Mr. Kuykendall made a motion to approve the sell of Mack Trucks this fall and the purchase of the new Kenworth trucks, with a second from Mr. Westbrook, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried. Costs to be approximately \$2,562,558.

Generator--Mr. Broyles stated that he had a quote from a company out of Huntsville for a 20kw generator with an automatic switching gear. Mr. Broyles requested permission to solicit bids for the purchase and install of the 20kw generator with an automatic switching gear.

Mr. Westbrook made a motion to approve the request to bid out a generator with an automatic switching gear, with a second from Mr. Wootten, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

Revenue Commissioner

<u>Personnel</u>--Mr. Wilks stated that for the last eighteen months Cindy Ballenger had been training for Personal Property Appraiser II, and requested that she be moved from a Grade 6 to a Grade 7.

Mr. Kuykendall made a motion to honor to promote Cynthia Ballenger to G7/7, with a second from Mr. Westbrook, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

Sheriff's Office

<u>Personnel</u>--Mr. Langley requested the Commission hire Thomas Frazier as a full time Corrections Officer to replace Eric Sorenson, also transfer Leighanna Gonzalez from part time Corrections Officer to full time to replace Marisol Benitez who resigned.

Mr. Westbrook made a motion to approve the hire of Thomas Frazier (G5/1) as FT Correctional Officer and transfer of Leighanna Gonzalez (G5/1) from PT to FT Correctional Officer, with a second from Mr. Wootten, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

Fire Protection Authority Appointments

<u>Kilpatrick Fire Protection</u>--Mr. Westbrook made a motion to reappoint Tina Malone to the Kilpatrick Fire Protection Board, with a second from Mr. Wootten, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

Adamsburg Fire Protection--Mr. Kuykendall made a motion to reappoint Gary Hilyer to the Adamsburg Fire Protection Board, with a second from, Mr. Westbrook, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

<u>Blake Fire Protection</u>--Mr. Kuykendall, on behalf of President Pro Tem Jackson, made a motion to reappoint Kenneth Black to the Blake Fire Protection Board, with a second from Mr. Wootten, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

Animal Adoption Center

<u>Personnel</u>--Mr. Sharp stated that Emily Hearn had passed her Euthanasia Technician Certification and asked that she be promoted from Grade 6 to Grade 7.

Mr. Westbrook made a motion to approve the promotion of Emily Hearn to Certified Euthanasia Technician at G7/1 with a second from Mr. Wootten, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

Public Transportation

<u>Grant Application</u>--Mr. Sharp presented the annual grant application prepared by June Brewer for the Rural Public Transportation Grant. He asked the Commission to authorize President Harcrow to sign the grant application and authorize a local match resolution.

Mr. Westbrook made a motion, with a second from Mr. Wootten, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried to authorize the Commission President to sign the grant application and adopt the following Resolution authorizing local matching funds:

Resolution Authorizing Local Matching Funds

RESOLUTION NO. 17-050 8-01

"SECTION 5311 NONURBANIZED AREA PUBLIC TRANSPORTATION"

WHEREAS, the DeKalb County Commission recognizes the need for a public transportation program; and

WHEREAS, the DeKalb County Commission is recognized as a member of the DeKalb County Rural Public Transportation Steering Committee; and

WHEREAS, the DeKalb County Commission recognizes that the requirements to obtain Section 5311 funds from the Alabama Department of Transportation includes a local match of 50% for operating expenses and 20% for administration, planning, and capital expenses; and

WHEREAS, the DeKalb County Commission recognizes that the local match will be a shared cost with other participating municipalities being responsible for providing an appropriate allocation of local non-federal funds to secure the operating of the Section 5311 Nonurbanized Area Public Transportation Program.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the DeKalb County Commission hereby commits the amount of \$114,335.00 as local non-federal match for operations, administration, planning, and capital expenditures under the Section 5311 Rural Area Public Transportation Program during Fiscal Year 2018.

Passed and adopted this the 8th day of May, 20 17.

Ricky Harcrow President, DeKalb County Commission

President Pro Tem Jackson notified the audience that the next meeting would be on Tuesday, May 23, 2017. He asked for a motion to adjourn.

Mr. Westbrook made a Motion to adjourn. The President declared no objections and ordered the meeting adjourned.

<u>ABSENT</u>
Ricky Harcrow, President
Shane Wootten, Commissioner District I
Scot Westbrook, Commissioner District II
Chris Kuykendall, Commissioner District III
Dewitt Jackson, Commissioner District IV