The DeKalb County Commission met in regular session on Tuesday April 25, 2017 at 10:00 a.m. in the DeKalb County Activities Building (Courthouse Annex). Those present were Ricky Harcrow, President, Shane Wootten, Scot Westbrook, Chris Kuykendall and Dewitt Jackson.

The meeting was called to order by President Harcrow and delivered the invocation and Mr. Kuykendall lead the Pledge.

It was moved by Mr. Westbrook, seconded by Mr. Wootten all members voting affirmatively, motion carrying to dispense with the reading of the minutes and to accept them as presented in written format.

Road Department

<u>Road Maintenance Update</u>--Mr. Broyles notified the Commission that road crews had been patching and hauling chert to District 2; all four district crews have started mowing and they will start spraying herbicide behind the mowers in 10 days. Mr. Wootten asked about reclaiming projects in Cartersville. Mr. Broyles told the Commission that this project as well as projects in District 3 and a project in Buck's Pocket will not be able be started until next month when the weather would be dryer.

<u>Personnel</u>-- Mr. Broyles requested the Commission approve the hiring of Thad Smith for a Temporary position in District 3.

Mr. Kuykendall made a motion to approve the hiring of Thad Smith (\$10/hr) for the temporary position, with a second from Mr. Wootten, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

DeKalb-Jackson Water Board Appointment

<u>Board Appointment</u>--Mr. Wootten notified the Commission that Gregg Harris' term on the DeKalb-Jackson Water Board had expired and needed to be reappointed. Mr. Wootten made a motion to approve the reappointment of Gregg Harris to the DeKalb-Jackson Water Board, Mr. Westbrook seconded the motion, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

Sheriff's Office

<u>Personnel</u>--Mr. Edmondson requested the Commission to approve the transfer of Austin Peppers from part-time dispatch to full-time dispatch to replace Amelia Wills who resigned. He also asked to hire Daniel Willkie as part time dispatch to replace Austin Peppers and hire Seth Moore as a full-time Corrections Officer to replace Kyle Wright.

Mr. Westbrook made a motion to approve Mr. Edmondson's request to promote Amelia Wills from PT to FT Dispatch (G5/1); to hire Daniel Willkie as a PT Dispatcher (G5/1); and to hire Set Moore as FT Correctional Officer (G5/1), with a second from Mr. Kuykendall, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

Chief Edmondson also asked the Commission to accept the resignations of Kyle Collier (PT Dispatcher); Eric Sorenson (FT Correctional Officer); and Marisol Benitez-Castro (FT Correctional Officer).

It was moved by Mr. Jackson, seconded by Mr. Westbrook to accept the resignations of the employees noted above.

Safety Coordinator

<u>Appointments</u>—Mr. Harcrow requested the Commission to appoint Matt Martin and Irby Wallace as Co-Safety Coordinators to replace EMA Director Anthony Clifton.

It was moved by Mr. Westbrook, seconded by Mr. Wootten, all members voting affirmatively, motion carrying to adopt the following resolution appointing Mr. Martin and Mr. Wallace as Co-Safety Coordinators:

THE DeKALB COUNTY COMMISSION							
COMM	IISSION MEMBERS	RICKY HARCROW, PRESIDENT	COMMISSION MEMBERS				
SHANI DISTR	E WOOTTEN ICT I	MATT G. SHARP, ADMINISTRATOR SUITE 200	CHRIS KUYKENDALL DISTRICT III				
SCOT WESTBROOK DISTRICT II		111 GRAND AVE. S.W. FORT PAYNE, AL 35967 235-845-8500 PHONE 256-845-8502 FAX	DEWITT JACKSON DISTRICT IV				
SAFETY COORDINATOR RESOLUTION NO. 17-0425-01							
WHEREAS, DeKalb County has agreed to establish the position of Safety Coordinator to establish and oversee a safety program to assist with the loss prevention efforts of the county; and							
 WHEREAS, the Safety Coordinator will be responsible for the following: Establishing a County-wide Safety Committee made up of at least one representative from each Safety-Sensitive department; 							
 Coordinating and presiding over County-wide Safety Committee meetings and maintaining agendas and sign-in sheets of those meetings, and report to the Commission; Determining County's Safety-Sensitive departments, implementing safety rules, and the need for 							
 each Safety-Sensitive department to hold at least four (4) departmental safety meetings per year; Coordinating participation of Public Officials/Administrative Staff, ALL Correctional Officers and ALL Deputies, and ALL Road Department employees in required training; Attending and completing at least one Safety Coordinator Training session annually; Working with Safety-Sensitive departments with periodic safety self-inspections of all vehicles, buildings, grounds, equipment and machinery and work practices/conditions to determine potential injury exposures and safety-related hazards; Assisting Safety-Sensitive departments with the reviewing and investigating of all employee accidents for causes and making recommendations for improvements and corrections; Working with Meadowbrook Risk Management Consultants and following up with their surveys; 							
				 Documenting and maintaining inspection records and implementing any follow-up actions; and 			
				WHEREAS , the Safety Coordinator will be responsible for insuring qualifications have been met that will enable the County to receive a substantial discount on their insurance costs.			
NOW THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED THAT THE POSITION OF Safety Coordinator has been established for DeKalb County and <u>Matt Martin, Deputy EMA</u> and <u>Irby Wallace, Assistant</u> <u>Engineer</u> have been appointed as Co-County Safety Coordinators.							
RESOLVED this 25 th day of April, 2017.							
Ricky Harcrow, Commission President DeKalb County Commission							
ATTEST: Matt G. Sharp, County Administrator							

<u>Training</u>—Mr. Harcrow also notified the Commission that the two (2) new Co-Safety Coordinators would need training. The Commission informally affirmed the training.

Public Transportation

<u>Bus Purchase</u>—Mr. Harcrow notified the Commission that the Rural Public Transportation (RPT) Program needed to order two (2) new buses at a price of \$53,325/each. The County's portion of these buses will be 20% (or \$10,665)/each for a total of \$21,330.00.

It was moved by Mr. Wootten, seconded by Mr. Westbrook, all members voting affirmatively, motion carrying to order new buses for the RPT Program and to pay the 20% match.

President Harcrow notified the audience that the next meeting would be on Tuesday, May 9, 2017. He asked for a motion to adjourn.

Mr. Jackson made a motion to adjourn. The President declared no objections and ordered the meeting adjourned.

Ricky Harcrow, President

Shane Wootten, Commissioner District I

Scot Westbrook, Commissioner District II

Chris Kuykendall, Commissioner District III

Dewitt Jackson, Commissioner District IV