The DeKalb County Commission met in regular session on Tuesday April 11, 2017 at 10:00 a.m. in the DeKalb County Activities Building (Courthouse Annex). Those present were Ricky Harcrow, President, Shane Wootten, Scot Westbrook, and Chris Kuykendall. Dewitt Jackson was absent from the meeting.

The meeting was called to order by President Harcrow and Tom Broyles delivered the invocation and Mr. Kuykendall leading the Pledge.

It was moved by Mr. Wootten, seconded by Mr. Westbrook all members voting affirmatively, motion carrying to dispense with the reading of the minutes and to accept them as presented in written format.

ACCA Recognition--President Harcrow state that he had received a letter from the Alabama Jail Academy honoring Tiffany Graham for the completion of her training with the Academy. President Harcrow thanked Tiffany for her willingness to service this county in her capacity at the jail and her dedication to the continued training.

Road Department

Road Maintenance Update--Mr. Broyles stated that they had completed the clean-up from the tornado that touched down in Ider on November 30, 2016. The debris was hauled to the chert pit at Collinsville and will be burned at a later date. Mr. Broyles also told the Commission they have been removing material from the Collinsville Chert Pit and hauling it to various roads throughout the county and first round of herbicide applications with start at the end of the month.

Engineering

<u>Surface Treatment Bid Award</u>--Mr. Boyles presented the only bid that was received for the Bituminous Surface Treatment, Charles Watts was the low bid for this surface treatment. The bid is as follows:

Mr. Kuykendall made a motion to accept this bid, with a second from Mr. Wootten, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

Revenue Commission

<u>Personnel</u>--Mr. Wilks stated that previously Jody Edmondson has resigned from her position with the Revenue Commission office and Angie Pask had been training to fill that position. Mr. Wilks said that Angie Pask has now completed this training and will be doing this job full time and her pay grade needs to be changed from a G5 to a G6a.

Mr. Westbrook made a motion to approve this change, with a second from Mr. Wootten, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

<u>Parking and Door Locks Upgrade</u>--Mr. Wilks stated that he had been looking to upgrade the parking in front of the Revenue Commission building by removing the bumpers, new concrete and repairing some of the existing concrete, new striping and new handicap striping. Mr. Wilks stated that he received a quote from Sam's Construction in the amount of \$14,800.00. Mr. Wilks also as the Commission to approve upgrading the lock on the bad door of the building to a key card system as opposed to the current key lock that can be duplicated easily. Mr. Wilks received a quote from Halts Security for \$2663.15.

Mr. Kuykendall made a motion to approve both these upgrades, with a second from Mr. Westbrook, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

Sheriff's Office

<u>Personnel</u>--Mr. Edmondson request the Commission approve the hiring of Lee Meadows and Eric Sorenson and accept the resignation of Kyle Wright, effective 4/12/17 and the resignation of Amelia Wills, effective 4/16/17.

Mr. Wootten made a motion to approve these request, with a second from Mr. Westbrook, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

Mr. Edmondson presented a list of surplus vehicles that are no longer usefully to the Sheriff's Office, he request the Commission declare these surplus and sell them for scrap or auction off the vehicles that are still in running order.

Mr. Kuykendall made a motion to approve this request, with a second from Mr. Westbrook, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

Council on Aging

<u>Training</u>--Mr. Sharp presented a request from June Brewer to allow Mrs. Brewer and Glenda Crumley to attend the Alabama RTAP Annual Spring Meeting to be held April 26th-29th, in Orange Beach Alabama.

Mr. Wootten mad a motion to approve this training with a second from Mr. Westbrook, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

President Harcrow notified the audience that the next meeting would be on Tuesday, April 25, 2017. He asked for a motion to adjourn.

Mr. Westbrook made a Motion to adjourn. The meeting adjourned.	e President declared no objections and ordered the
Ricky Harcrow, President	
Shane Wootten, Commissioner District I	
Scot Westbrook, Commissioner District II	
Chris Kuykendall, Commissioner District III	
ABSENT	
Dewitt Jackson, Commissioner District IV	