The DeKalb County Commission met in regular session on Tuesday February 28, 2017 at 10:00 a.m. in the DeKalb County Activities Building (Courthouse Annex). Those present were Ricky Harcrow, President, Shane Wootten, Scot Westbrook, Chris Kuykendall and Dewitt Jackson.

The meeting was called to order by President Harcrow and President Harcrow delivered the invocation and Mr. Kuykendall leading the Pledge.

It was moved by Mr. Wootten, seconded by Mr. Westbrook all members voting affirmatively, motion carrying to dispense with the reading of the minutes and to accept them as presented in written format.

#### **Road Department**

<u>Road Maintenance Update</u>-- Mr. Broyles stated that the new road tractors and dump trucks are on the road and crews are in the process of cleaning up the old trucks and getting those ready for auction. They will be carrying those to the auction site next week and it will take about five trips.

Personnel--Mr. Broyles asked the Commission to approve the following:

Transfer of Kerry Duncan from District 2 crew to the District 3 crew (to replace Dale Fairley); hire Allen Bunch for District 2 (to replace Kerry Duncan) and hire Nevin Johnson for District 4 to replace David Pack.

Mr. Westbrook a motion to approve the requests to transfer Kerry Duncan from District 2 to District 3 (no payroll changes); hire Allen Bunch (G5/3) in District 2; with a second from Mr. Kuykendall, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

### **Engineering**

<u>ACEA Conference</u>--Mr. Luther requested permission for himself and the new Assistant Engineer, Trey Wallace to attend the annual ACEA Conference May 9-10 Orange Beach, AL.

Mr. Kuykendall made a motion to approve the travel/training request, with a second from Mr. Jackson, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

### **Sheriff's Office**

<u>Personnel</u>--Mr. Edmonson requested the Commission to accept the resignation of Sebastian Gamez who is a full-time Communications Officer and promote Caitlin East from part-time to full-time Communications Officer (G5/1).

Mr. Westbrook made a motion to accept the resignation of Sabastian Gamez and approve the transfer of Caitlin East from PT to FT Correctional Officer (G5/1), with a second from Mr. Jackson, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

## **Liability Insurance Renewal**

Mr. Sharp stated that every 3 years the ACCA Liability Accept Insurance Fund requires the County to renew for another 3 year term. Further stated that if the County renewed by before March 15<sup>th</sup> the County would be eligible for a longevity bonus.

Mr. Kuykendall made a motion to adopt the following resolution renewing the County's Insurance for another three years, with a second from Mr. Jackson, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried:

# ACCA Liability Self-Insurance Fund Resolution RESOLUTION No. 14-0114-03

WHEREAS, DeKalb County is a member of the Association of County Commissions of Alabama Liability Self-Insurance Fund ("Liability Fund") for the contract period ending December 31, 2017; and

**WHEREAS**, the County's participation in the Liability Fund has been a significant benefit to the County since becoming a member; and

WHEREAS, the representation and service provided by the Liability Fund continues to be in the best interest of DeKalb County and its officials and employees; and

**WHEREAS**, DeKalb County would benefit by agreeing to extend its participation in the Liability Fund for an additional three-year period beginning January 1, 2018 and concluding December 31, 2020.

**NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED** by the DeKalb County Commission that it renews its participation in the Liability Fund for calendar years 2018 through 2020 and hereby authorizes its President to execute the 2018-2020 ACCA Liability Self-Insurance Fund, Inc. Participation Agreement.

**ADOPTED** this the 28th day of February 2017.

Ricky Harcrow, Commission President

ATTESTED BY:

Matt G. Sharp, County Administrator

President Harcrow notified the audience that the next meeting would be on Tuesday, March 14, 2017. He asked for a motion to adjourn.

Mr. Jackson made a Motion to adjourn. The President declared no objections and ordered the meeting adjourned.

Ricky Harcrow, President	
Shane Wootten, Commissioner District I	

Scot Westbrook, Commissioner District II
Chris Kuykendall, Commissioner District III
Dewitt Jackson, Commissioner District IV