The DeKalb County Commission met in regular session on Tuesday October 10, 2017 at 10:00 a.m. in the DeKalb County Activities Building (Courthouse Annex). Those present were Ricky Harcrow, President, Shane Wootten, Scot Westbrook, Chris Kuykendall, and Dewitt Jackson.

The meeting was called to order by President Harcrow and delivered the invocation and Mr. Kuykendall lead the Pledge.

It was moved by Mr. Wootten, seconded by Mr. Westbrook all members voting affirmatively, motion carrying to dispense with the reading of the minutes and to accept them as presented in written format.

Road Department

<u>Road Maintenance Update</u>--Mr. Broyles stated that the County had avoided any major damage from the aftermath of tropical storm passing through our area. He also noted that crews are currently hauling chert in District 1 and should be finished with the last rounds of herbicides this week.

<u>Equipment Purchase</u>--Mr. Broyles reminded the Commission of the discussion they had at the previous meeting about the excavator the Road Department is currently using. Mr. Broyles stated that he had a bid price from the NIPA Bid for \$296,404.00 for a Caterpillar 335FL Hydraulic Excavator equipped with two buckets. Mr. Broyles requested the Commission approve the purchase of this excavator.

Mr. Wootten made a motion to approve the purchase Excavator, with a second from Mr. Westbrook, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

<u>Damage Claim</u>--Mr. Sharp presented a damage claim from Jim Hargrave. Mr. Hargrave claims his vehicle was damaged from a branch hanging over the roadway on CR 89. Mr. Sharp requested the Commission submit this claim to the County Insurance carrier for final disposition.

Mr. Westbrook made a motion to send the claim to Meadowbrook ASI, with a second from Mr. Wootten, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

Sheriff's Office

<u>Personnel</u>--Mr. Edmondson requested the Commission hire Melody Kuykendall to replace Tiffany Barksdale, who resigned; and to promote the following to Corrections Sergeants: Sebastian Gamez – G6A/1 (replaces Kyle Wright who previously resigned); Jordan McGinnis – G6A/1 (replaces William Monroe who previously resigned); and Wilson Kuykendall – G6A/3 (replaces Lesly Francisco-Andres who recently went to PT Correctional Officer).

Mr. Jackson made a motion to approve the personnel requests noted above, with a second from Mr. Westbrook, with three Commissioners voting affirmatively, Mr. Kuykendall abstained from voting, motion carried.

Engineering

<u>Training</u>--Mr. Luther requested permission from the Commission to attend CGEI class on November 1-2 in Prattville.

Mr. Jackson made a motion to approve the CGEI training for the County Engineer, with a second from Mr. Westbrook, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

DeKalb Public Transportation

<u>Resolution</u>--President Harcrow presented a transportation resolution for the DeKalb County Rural Public Transportation Program. This resolution relates to an agreement between the Federal Transit Administration and DeKalb County for Fiscal Years 2018, 2019 and 2020. President Harcrow asked the Commission to authorize his signature on the resolution and agreement.

Mr. Wootten made a motion to grant President Harcrow authority to sign the 3 year agreement and adopt the following resolution, with a second from Mr. Jackson, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried:

RESOLUTION NUMBER 17-1010-01	*
BE IT RESOLVED, by the DeKalb County Commission of DeKalb County, as follows:	
 That the DeKalb County Commission enter into an agreement with the State of Alabama, acting by and through the Alabama Department of Transportation, relating to public transportation with partial funding by the Federal Transit Administration for Fiscal Years 2018, 2019, and 2020 which agreement is before this Board; 	×
 That the agreement to be executed in the name of the DeKalb County Commission, by the Chairman for and on behalf of the DeKalb County Commission; 	2
That such execution be attested by the County Clerk and the seal of the DeKalb County Commission affixed thereto;	
BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that upon completion of the execution of the agreement by all parties, a copy of such agreement be kept by the County Clerk in the minute book of the DeKalb County Commission.	
	÷
I, the undersigned qualified and acting Clerk of DeKalb County, Alabama, do hereby certify that the above and foregoing is a true copy of a resolution lawfully passed and adopted by the DeKalb County Commission of the County named therein, at a regular meeting of such Commission held on the 10^{+5} day of $0cf_{0}ber$, $20IZ$, and that such resolution is of record in the Minute Book of the County.	
IN WITNESS, WHEREOF, I have hereunto set my hand and affixed the official seal of the	
County on this <u>lot</u> day of <u>October</u> , 20 <u>12</u> .	x
Redacu 10-10-2017 Certifying Official Date	

DeKalb Ambulance Service Board

<u>Resignation and Appointment</u>--Mr. Westbrook asked the Commission to accept the resignation of Drake Cook from the DeKalb Ambulance Service (County Hospital) Board and appoint Jason Bryan to fill the remainder of his term (December 31, 2019).

Mr. Westbrook made the motion to accept the resignation of Mr. Cook and appointment of Jason Bryan on the DeKalb County Hospital Board, a second from Mr. Wootten, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

DeKalb Public Library Board

<u>Board Reappointment</u>-- President Harcrow requested the Commission reappoint Paul Tumlin and Judy Hammond to the DeKalb County Public Library Board.

Mr. Westbrook made a motion to approve the reappointment of Mr. Tumlin and Ms. Hammond to the County Library Board, with a second from Mr. Jackson, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

Lighting

Barry Wisner spoke to the Commission about upgrading all of the County buildings to the new energy efficient (LED) lighting that could save the County a significant amount of money. Mr. Wisner told the Commission he would like to meet with each of them to discuss this in further detail.

President Harcrow notified the audience that the next meeting would be on Tuesday, October 24, 2017. He asked for a motion to adjourn.

Mr. Jackson made a Motion to adjourn. The President declared no objections and ordered the meeting adjourned.

Ricky Harcrow, President

Shane Wootten, Commissioner District I

Scot Westbrook, Commissioner District II

Chris Kuykendall, Commissioner District III

Dewitt Jackson, Commissioner District IV