The DeKalb County Commission met in regular session on Wednesday January 24, 2017 at 10:00 a.m. in the DeKalb County Activities Building (Courthouse Annex). Those present were Shane Wootten, Scot Westbrook, Chris Kuykendall and Dewitt Jackson, Ricky Harcrow was absent from the meeting .

The meeting was called to order by President Pro Tem Jackson and Mr. Wootten delivered the invocation and Mr. Kuykendall leading the Pledge.

It was moved by Mr. Wootten, seconded by Mr. Westbrook all members voting affirmatively, motion carrying to dispense with the reading of the minutes and to accept them as presented in written format.

President Pro Tem Dewitt Jackson recognized the Cheerleader from Fyffe High School for their great accomplishment of winning the 2A State Championship for the fifth consecutive year. President Pro Tem Jackson stated this was quite an accomplishment and we are very proud of this group of girls and the Coaches.

President Pro Tem Jackson recognized Fyfe High School Football team for winning the 2A State Football Championship. President Pro Tem Jackson spoke to Paul Benefield, coach of the Red Devil team and commended him for the accomplishment and for the player's behavior on and off the field. President Pro Tem Jackson said that the Commission is very proud to have this group of boys as a representation of the County.

Road Department

<u>Road Maintenance Update</u>-- Mr. Broyles stated they have been patching pot holes and doing more bush cutting. Heavy rains throughout the County has caused little damage and crews are working to repair that. Mr. Broyles said they were very busy right now trying to get the surplus equipment ready for auction

<u>Personnel</u>--Mr. Broyles recommended Cody Elrod to fill the position in District 2 that Michael Henderson would be retiring from at the end of the month.

Mr. Westbrook made a motion to approve the recommendation, with a second from Mr. Kuykendall, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

<u>CR 255 Funding Agreement</u>--Mr. Luther presented a funding agreement for CR 255. This is extra funding for some specific projects that tie in to federal land. This funding is made

available by the Eastern Federal Highways Administrations. Mr. Luther request the Commission approve the funding agreement.

Mr. Kuykendall made a motion to approve the agreement, with a second from Mr. Westbrook, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

<u>Aroney Fire Protection Board</u>--Mr. Westbook request the Re-Appointment of Mark Cotton to a two year term on the Aroney Fire Protection Board and James Edwin Cash to a three year term as Chairman of the board.

Mr. Westbrook made a motion to re-appoint Mr. Cotton and Mr. Cash, with a second from Mr. Wootten, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

EMA

LEPC Meeting--Local Emergency Preparedness Committee meeting will be January 25th, at this meeting they will be changing the name of this committee to All Hazards Planning Committee, these are bi-annual meetings.

Winter Weather Executive Order--Mr. Clifton request the Commission pass a resolution to radify and emergency declaration issued on January 6th and 7th for the winter weather event.

Mr. Kuykendall made a motion to approve this resolution, with a second from MR. Wootten, all members voting affirmatively, motion carried.

President Harcrow notified the audience that the next meeting would be on Tuesday February 14th, 2017. He asked for a motion to adjourn.

Mr. Jackson made a Motion to adjourn. The President declared no objections and ordered the meeting adjourned.

<u>ABSENT</u> Ricky Harcrow, President Shane Wootten, Commissioner District I

Scot Westbrook, Commissioner District II

Chris Kuykendall, Commissioner District III

Dewitt Jackson, Commissioner District IV